Fornaroli, Kilkenny and Celia claim 2019/20 MGP honours

MGP Awards 2020 blank graphic

Bruno Fornaroli, Neil Kilkenny and Celia Jimenez Delgado have claimed the 2019/20 Most Glorious Player (MGP) Awards.

During the online Awards event held on Tuesday evening, Fornaroli and Kilkenny became the first joint winners of the Men’s MGP Award since Simon Colosimo and David Tarka shared the honour in 2006-07.


Spanish international midfielder Celia, meanwhile, became the third overseas player to claim the Women’s MGP Award, following in the footsteps of Alexandra Nilsson and Vanessa DiBernardo.


There were more international winners in a number of other categories, with Spanish midfielder Juande taking out the A-League Players’ Player of the Year Award for a second consecutive season, Fornaroli adding the A-League Golden Boot to his MGP Award and rising American star Morgan Andrews bagging both the W-League Players’ Player Award and W-League Golden Boot.





James Meredith’s stunning strike against Western Sydney Wanderers in Round 26 was named Glory’s A-League Goal of the Year.


At youth level, meanwhile, defender Alessandro Circati took out the Most Glorious Youth Player of the Year Award and two of the club’s most gifted young talents, Jaylan Pearman and Royie Rahamim, shared the newly-introduced PGFC Academy Rising Star Award.


Perth Glory CEO Tony Pignata paid tribute to each of the nine winners.

“Many congratulations to all those players who have been honoured this evening,” he said.

“Their outstanding performances during what was a challenging year bear testament not only to their ability, but also to their attitude and professionalism.

“Hopefully next year circumstances will allow us to return to a traditional MGP Awards evening which I know is an event that many of our members and fans, along with our players and staff, really look forward to.”

Full List of Winners:

Most Glorious Player (Men’s) Award – Bruno Fornaroli and Neil Kilkenny
Most Glorious Player (Women’s) Award: Celia Jimenez Delgado
Most Glorious Youth Player Award: Alessandro Circati
A-League Players’ Player of the Year Award: Juande
A-League Golden Boot Award: Bruno Fornaroli
A-League Goal of the Season: James Meredith (Round 26 v Western Sydney Wanderers)
Westfield W-League Players’ Player of the Year Award: Morgan Andrews
Westfield W-League Golden Boot Award: Morgan Andrews
PGFC Academy Rising Star Award: Jaylan Pearman and Royie Rahamim