Back to business – date set for Hyundai A-League resumption


Football Federation Australia (FFA) have today confirmed that the Hyundai A-League 2019/20 season will resume on Thursday 16 July.


Melbourne Victory v Western United at AAMI Park is the first-up fixture, with full details of the other games expected to be published shortly.

FFA’s Head of Leagues, Greg O’Rourke, explained that there are multiple draw options still being considered due to the possibility of border and travel restrictions being further eased in the coming weeks.

But he went on to confirm that regardless of any such easing of restrictions, Glory and Wellington Phoenix will both play out their remaining fixtures in New South Wales.

“We have developed multiple draw options for the completion of the regular season,” he said.

“All options commence with Victory taking on Western United at AAMI Park followed by a game between the table topping Sydney FC against third-placed Wellington Phoenix at Netstrata Jubilee Stadium the following day.

“The reason for having multiple draw options – which our clubs are across – is due to the fact that over the next few weeks there may be additional relaxations in border restrictions and travel movements in Australia, which may enable our clubs from Victoria, Queensland and South Australia to remain and play in their home cities, rather than relocating to New South Wales to complete the season. 

“Regardless of which option we ultimately take, Wellington Phoenix and Perth Glory FC understand that they will complete the remainder of their regular season matches in New South Wales, with games to be played at Bankwest Stadium in Parramatta, Netstrata Jubilee Stadium in Kogarah, and McDonald Jones Stadium in Newcastle.

“We are confident that we will be able to release the revised draw for the completion of the Hyundai A-League 2019/20 season soon.”

O’Rourke also confirmed that FFA’s discussions with long-term partner and host broadcaster Fox Sports regarding arrangements for the coverage of the remaining games are ongoing and that there is a possibility of fans being allowed to attend.

“Last Friday our Prime Minister, Scott Morrison, announced that Stadiums with capacities of 40,000 people or fewer could be permitted to host up to 10,000 people,” he said. 

“We will continue to work closely with the Federal and State Governments, as well as our venues, to consider how we can accommodate as many club members and fans as possible at matches when the competition resumes.

“With our Finals Series still the best part of two months away, we are keen to keep our options and thinking open regarding how and where that may be held. 

“Leading our decision-making in August be how we may be able to maximise the experience for members, fans, and commercial and broadcast partners, and rewarding the club that wins the right to host the Grand Final, subject to travel restrictions at the time.”









With key milestones being met, FFA will continue to work collaboratively with the competition’s long-term partner and host broadcaster, Fox Sports, regarding the broadcast arrangements to complete the season.

Positively, O’Rourke explained that changes to the Federal Government’s rules for crowds in Stadiums, which will come into effect from Wednesday, 1 July 2020, would likely enable the season to be completed with fans in the stands.