Five-star Glory make sensational start

Glory v Adelaide United - Neil Kilkenny, Nick D'Agostino and Bruno Fornaroli celebrate

Richard Garcia’s tenure as Glory Head Coach began in sensational style as Nick D’Agostino (2), Neil Kilkenny, Bruno Fornaroli and Carlo Armiento all found the net in a thrilling 5-3 win over Adelaide United at HBF Park.


Kilkenny’s early penalty set the tone for an enthralling 90 minutes, with D’Agostino sweeping the hosts into a two-goal lead before Nathan Konstandopoulos pulled one back for the Reds just before the break.

Glory swiftly resumed control, however, the impressive Andy Keogh setting Fornaroli up for number three and D’Agostino then making it 4-1 when he headed home Kilkenny’s free-kick.

Keogh provided another assist for Armiento to claim his first A-League goal for Glory against his former club six minutes from time, rendering Mohamed Touré and Ben Halloran’s subsequent goals nothing more than consolation efforts for the South Australians.

Unsurprisingly, Garcia was delighted to get the season underway on such an emphatically positive note.


“I was very pleased with the performance,” he said.

“The older guys in the squad really stepped up and helped the younger players.

“I’m very confident in the leaders that we have in the squad and the fresh young talent we have and now it’s about going on from here.

“There are a lot of improvements still to be made.”

Glory were rewarded for their bright start to the game with the early breakthrough which came about after Adelaide ‘keeper James Delianov needlessly rushed from his line and bundled Fornaroli to the ground.

Kilkenny duly stepped up and maintained his 100% record from the spot for Glory by calmly finding the net.

The three young WA players in the starting eleven, Daniel Stynes, Callum Timmins and Josh Rawlins all caught the eye throughout the first half and the former two were directly involved in creating Glory’s second goal of the night just after the half-hour mark.

Timmins showed great tenacity to force the ball out to Dane Ingham on the left, his cross was initially cleared, but Stynes nodded it back into the danger zone and D’Agostino pounced to sweep home his fourth goal for the club.

The home side’s momentum was briefly halted when Konstandopoulos capitalised upon a defensive error to halve the arrears shortly before the break, but within six minutes of the restart, Fornaroli had restored their two-goal cushion.

Keogh was the creator, bearing down on goal and drawing several Adelaide defenders before squaring for his Uruguayan strike partner who applied a clinical finish.

Louis D’Arrigo then tried his luck from range as the Reds attempted to find a way back into the contest, but those hopes were all but extinguished on the hour-mark.

Kilkenny picked out D’Agostino with a pinpoint free-kick and the Olyroo bagged his second and Glory’s fourth with a well-placed header.

Keogh’s perseverance provided the foundation for goal number five, the club’s record A-League goalscorer holding off a defender before poking a pass into the path of Armiento who made light of an acute angle to crash a fierce shot into the net.

With fatigue perhaps creeping in during the latter stages of what was Glory’s first competitive game since November, Adelaide did manage to break through twice in the final five minutes, but those efforts did little to take the gloss off a memorable victory.

Match Details

Perth Glory 5 (Kilkenny (pen) 9′, D’Agostino 34′, 61′, Fornaroli 51′, Armiento 84′) Adelaide United 3 (Konstandopoulos 42′, Toure 88′, Halloran 90+3′)

Half-time: 2-1

HBF Park, Perth

Referee: Adam Fielding

Perth Glory: 33.Liam REDDY (GK), 5.Jonathan ASPROPOTAMITIS, 9.Bruno FORNAROLI (21.Bryce BAFFORD 78′), 10.Andy KEOGH, 18.Nick D’AGOSTINO, 19.Calllum TIMMINS (16.Nick SULLIVAN 78′), 22.Josh RAWLINS (37.Riley WARLAND 77′), 23.Dane INGHAM (34.Mason TATAFU 89′), 24.Daniel STYNES (20.Carlo ARMIENTO 69′), 29.Darryl LACHMAN, 88.Neil KILKENNY (C)

Substitutes not used: 1.Tando VELAPHI (GK), 25.Nicholas WALSH 

Yellow Cards: None

Red Cards: None

Adelaide United: 1.James DELIANOV (gk), 2.Michael MARRONE (34.Yared ABETEW 73′), 6.Louis D’ARRIGO, 9.Tomi JURIC (24.Pacifique NIYONGABIRE 73′), 15.Noah SMITH (3.George TIMOTHEOU 60′), 16.Nathan KONSTANDOPOULOS (37.Jonny YULL 71′), 18.Joe CALETTI, 19.Yaya DUKULY (17.Mohamed TOURE 60′), 22.Michael JAKOBSEN, 23.Jordan ELSEY, 26.Ben HALLORAN

Substitutes not used: 46.Joe GAUCI (GK)

Yellow Cards: Caletti

Red Cards: None