Glory Youth edged out by Reds


Perth Glory Youth put in one of its best performances of the Foxtel National Youth League season but fell just short, after losing 2-1 to Conference A league leaders Adelaide United at the Elite Systems Football Centre on Sunday morning.

Riley McGree and Jordan O’Doherty gave the home side a two goal lead after only 16 minutes, but the Glory youngsters threw everything at the Reds allowing Cameron Teece to pull one back at the half hour.

Glory peppered the goal in the second half but failed to find the equaliser.

Without skipper Jacob Collard and striker Joe Knowles, who were both on Hyundai A-League duty, Coach John Gibson was delighted the way his in-experienced side performed.

“Super happy today with our performance – however we conceded two very preventable goals,” Gibson said.

“Unfortunately, we failed to meet our high standards for the early part of the game and found ourselves 2-0 down after 16 minutes. As per the normal for this group of players – they displayed self-belief, courage and character – rebounded well with a well taken goal by young Cameron, and then it was game on”.

“We got our groove on and dominated the second half, we had multiple opportunities, hit the crossbar, but just couldn’t find the equaliser our performance deserved.”

“It was Teece’s first NYL goal of the season, and was disappointed they didn’t get something from the game.

“We gave away a couple of sloppy goals early but I thought we battled back well and got the equaliser and dominated the second half but couldn’t turn it into goals,” Teece said.

“We came into the game with confidence after a good win last week and we should have come away from this one with at least a point.”

The home side, who sat on top of the table at kick-off, knew a win would almost certainly put them in the Grand Final, and they dominated early

McGree gave them the lead after only five minutes and Ioannis Nestoras almost added a second two minutes later.

Dylan Smith fired inches wide moments later as the home side continued to dictate terms.

The home side pressure was rewarded on 16 minutes, when they added a second.

Oliver Zafiridis’ corner picked out O’Doherty who headed home powerfully.

Hot conditions in South Australia forced a drinks break at the 25 minute mark and the break helped Glory settle.

Seven minutes later they narrowed the margin.

A long free kick from Ross Millard found Teece, who brought the ball down on his chest and his shot on the turn flew into the bottom corner of the net giving Adelaide custodian Daniel Margush no chance.

It was Glory who started the second half better and went close on the hour.

Teece played in Nikola Talimdzioski, and the striker was one-on-one with Adelaide keeper Margush, who brought the youngster down outside the box.

But the referee only showed a yellow card, but with Margush being the last man it should have been a red.  

It was Gibson’s side who were now on top and four minutes later they went within inches of the equaliser.

Talimdzioski found substitute Alex Tanevski in space 20-yards out, and his first time shot beat Margush, but crashed off the crossbar and away to safety.  

Daniel Stynes was the next Glory player to go close. The winger made space down the left, and eased his way past three Adelaide defenders, but a superb last ditch tackle from Ruon Tongyik saved the day for the home side.

Both sides had chances late in teh game.

Dejan Spaseski’s free kick whistled wide of the target for the Glory, before Zafiridis’ free kick flashed just wide of the upright.

Glory plays its final game of the Foxtel National Youth League next weekend when it hosts Melbourne City at Ashfield Sports Club on Sunday at 10.30am.

Entry is free for all Perth Glory FC members.

Match Details
Adelaide United 2 (Mcgree 5’, O’Doherty 16’)
Perth Glory 1 (Teece 33’)
Sunday January 10, 2016
Venue: Elite Systems Football Centre
Referee: Tom Dowle
Assistants; Andrew Kite and Samuel Kuys
Fourth Official: Nathan Magill

Adelaide United Youth: GK Daniel MARGUSH, 3 Ruon TONGYIK, 5 Oliver ZAFIRIDIS, 7 Ioannis NESTORAS,  8 Jordan O’DOHERTY, 10 Dylan SMITH, 12 Mark OCHIENG, 14 Adam PISCIONERI, (c) 15 Ben WARLAND, 17 Thomas LOVE, 16  Riley MCGREE

Subs: RGK Sergio SERRET, 9 Donovan POLLOCK, 13 Alec MAIOLO, 18 Jordan ELLIOTT

Perth Glory Youth:  GK Jordan THURTELL, 2 Henry DURR, 3 Hayden STEVENS, 4 Dejan SPASESKI, 5 Ross MILLARD, 6 Calvin WHITNEY, 7 Walieldin ISMAIL, 8 Sean TROUP, 9 Cameron TEECE, 10 Sam MCKEARNEN, 11 Nikola TALIMDZIOSKI

Subs: RGK Joel DRISCOLL 12 Daniel STYNES, 13 Alex TANEVSKI, 14 Jackson MORGAN