Who will follow Bruno and Liz as our 2022 MGPs?

Could Bruno Fornaroli produce a three-peat and Liz Anton go back-to-back as our Most Glorious Player Award winners in the club’s 25th Anniversary Season?

It’s a very valid question given that the newly-capped Socceroo once again claimed Glory’s Men’s Golden Boot this year, while the Kiwi defender was a standout performer in her 12 Liberty A-League starts for the club and has now become a regular in the Football Ferns squad.

And there are certainly no shortage of historical precedents for players scooping the club’s most prestigious honour in consecutive years.

Danny Hay was the first to do so, winning in 1998 and then sharing the prize with Scott Miller in 1999.

Bobby Despotovski, perhaps unsurprisingly, achieved the feat in 2001 and 2002 and technically did it again with his wins in 2004 and 2006 which bridged the year lost between the demise of the NSL and the creation of the A-League.

There was then a bit of a break until Diego Castro was showered by the confetti cannon in 2016 and 2017.

The Spanish maestro was followed by Fornaroli who claimed his first MGP alongside Neil Kilkenny in 2020 and duly returned to the Crown Ballroom stage once again last year.

In terms of the MGP Women’s Award, meanwhile, it will not come as any great surprise that Sam Kerr is the only player to have retained the trophy, adding it to her astonishing array of other domestic and international honours in 2017, 2018 and 2019.

But if Bruno and Liz don’t get the nod again this year, whose mantelpiece might the MGP be gracing?

All will be revealed at Crown Perth’s Grand Ballroom on Friday 20 May, so make sure you’re there for what promises to be a glittering night to remember.

In addition to a three-course silver service meal and five-hour beverage package, there will be a live band and a Photobooth for all those classic night out snaps!

To book your seat or table and for more details, please email monica.beazley@perthglory.com.au