A lot has changed since Perth Glory’s last home game at nib Stadium 211 days ago when they draw 1-1 against Adelaide United – a new playing group, a new strip and a new stadium!

A lot has changed since Perth Glory-s last home game at nib Stadium 211 days ago when they draw 1-1 against Adelaide United – a new playing group, a new strip and a new stadium!

A bumper crowd is expected to welcome the Glory as they play their first long-awaited home game for Season 2013/14 at the freshly renovated nib Stadium. The Perth side will be looking to turn the redeveloped 20,000 seater arena into a fortress following the off-season investment of $95 million for a new playing surface and Eastside stand.

The combined initiative by Glory and Football West to give away 5000 free tickets, plus the forecasted 26 degree day should ensure a passionate crowd rolls up to cheer on the home side. Last season-s first home match was played in front of 14,085 fans and a crowd in excess of that will certainly create an electric atmosphere that will certainly drive the team forward.

Perth Glory picked up their first point of the 2013/14 campaign with a well-earned 0-0 draw against Newcastle Jets on the road last week. It was a game where Glory dominated in the later stages and could well of come away with all three points.

The clean sheet earned against the Jets was further signs of the team-s defensive improvement and with the likely return of Michael THWAITE to the team should give Perth further strength at the back heading into their first home game of the season.

Alistair Edwards- possession-based game plan is already winning fans and critics over, and not surprisingly, causing opposition teams to adapt a more physical approach against the Glory as they attempt to break up their passing momentum, with the men in purple and white being the most fouled side in the A-League this season so far (39 fouls against).

Melbourne Heart haven-t had the best of away records in recent years, picking up only one away win in their past 21 matches and none in their past 14 (L12 D2), and Perth will be looking to extend that winless record.

Jamie MACLAREN, Sidnei Sciola MORAES and Ryan EDWARDS are all expected to make their home debuts while Matthew DAVIES has been added to the squad as Glory continue to promote the best local and national players.

Glory should also be bolstered by the return of Japanese winger Ryo NAGAI, who along with Socceroo defender Michael THWAITE, missed the last match against the Jets and will be keen to get on the pitch in front of the home fans. NAGAI will be looking to add to his goal scoring tally after he scored in the opening round match against Adelaide United.

Harry KEWELL has been unable to recover from whiplash sustained in Round 1 against Melbourne Victory, but his omission has been offset by the inclusion of pacey forward, Michael Mifsud, who will make his Hyundai A-League debut for Melbourne Heart after missing the past two games due to World Cup qualifying duties with Malta.

Mifsud made his 100th appearance for his country in a 4-1 loss to Czech Republic last week but did manage to score Malta’s solitary goal and 38th for his country. The diminutive striker drew praise from Czech Republic goalkeeper Petr Cech, who said “Mifsud was Malta’s best player and best scorer”.

Melbourne Heart and Perth Glory played each other twice in the pre-season with Perth remaining unbeaten over the two matches, however it-s difficult to gauge how much bearing those results will have on Sunday-s game with both teams fielding vastly different line ups.


Sunday, 20 October 2013
Perth Glory v Melbourne Heart
nib Stadium, Perth

Kick-off: 2:00pm local (5:00pm AEDT)
Referee: Kris Griffiths- Jones

TV Broadcast: 5.00pm (AEDT) Live and exclusive broadcast on FOX Sports 1HD and Sky Sport 2 (New Zealand).
Radio Broadcast: 720 ABC Perth, ABC Local Radio WA, 91.3 Sport FM, 774 ABC Melbourne, ABC Local Radio Victoria, Grandstand Digital, Online/Mobile phone app
Join the conversation on Twitter using the hash-tag #PERvMHT
To purchase tickets visit www.aleague.com.au/tickets

: 1.Daniel VUKOVIC (GK), 2.Jack CLISBY, 3.Brandon O-NEILL, 4.Ryan EDWARDS, 5.Steve PANTELIDIS, 6.Cameron EDWARDS, 7.Jacob BURNS (c), 8.Ryo NAGAI, 10.Jamie MACLAREN, 11.Adrian ZAHRA, 14.Steven McGARRY, 16.Sidnei SCIOLA MORAES, 17.Chris HAROLD, 18.Jack DUNCAN, 20.Daniel DE SILVA, 21.Scott JAMIESON, 23.MicPerth Glory Squadhael THWAITE, 24.Matthew DAVIES
**Two to be omitted**

Ins: 24.Matthew DAVIES (promoted), 8.Ryo NAGAI (promoted), 23.Michael THWAITE (promoted)
Outs: 19.Joshua RISDON (knee, 8 weeks)
Unavailable: 9.Shane SMELTZ (hip – 2 weeks), 13.Travis DODD (knee – ongoing), 15.Isaka CERNAK (hip – 2 weeks), 19.Joshua RISDON (knee, 8 weeks)

Melbourne Heart FC Squad: 1.Andrew REDMAYNE (GK), 3.Robbie WIELAERT (C), 5.Sam MITCHINSON, 6.Patrick GERHARDT, 7.Iain RAMSAY, 8.Massimo MURDOCCA, 11.Michael MIFSUD, 14.Golgol MEBRAHTU, 15.David WILLIAMS, 16.Aziz BEHICH, 17.Jason HOFFMAN, 19.Benjamin GARUCCIO, 20.Tando VELAPHI (GK), 21.Stefan MAUK , 22.Nick KALMAR, 23.Mate DUGANDZIC, 24.Patrick KISNORBO, 25.Andrea MIGLIORINI
***Two to be omitted***

Ins: 11.Michael MIFSUD (returns from international duty with Malta), 5.Sam MITCHINSON (promoted)
Outs: Nil
Unavailable: 4.Orlando ENGELAAR (Fractured tibia – long-term), 9.Dylan MACALLISTER (Hamstring – 3-6 weeks), 10.Harry Kewell (whiplash – undisclosed), 13.Jonatan GERMANO (Hamstring – three weeks)

Hyundai A-League 2013-2014 Season – Week 2
Newcastle Jets 0-0 Perth Glory
Hunter Stadium
Sunday 20th October
Attendance: 12,383
Referee: Shaun Evans

Newcastle Jets
1. Mark BIRIGHITTI (GK), 2. Scott NEVILLE, 4. Kew JALIENS (16. Jacob PEPPER), 6. Zenon CARAVELLA, 8. Ruben ZADKOVICH (c), 10. Nathan BURNS, 11. Craig GOODWIN (18. James BROWN), 12. Connor CHAPMAN, 19. Michael BRIDGES (17. James VIRGILI), 21. Sam GALLAWAY, 22. Adam TAGGART.
Subs not used: 15. Joshua BRILLIANTE, 20. Sam KENNEDY

Perth Glory
1.Daniel VUKOVIC (GK), 3. Brandon O-NEILL, 4. Ryan EDWARDS, 5. Steve PANTELIDIS, 7. Jacob BURNS (c), 10. Jamie MACLAREN, 11. Adrian ZAHRA (17. Chris HAROLD), 14. Steven MCGARRY (6. Cameron EDWARDS), 16. Sidnei SCIOLA MORAES, 19. Joshua RISDON (2. Jack CLISBY), 21. Scott JAMIESON.

Subs not used: 18. Jack DUNCAN, 20. Daniel DE SILVA