Glory fall to rampant Champions


Brazilian striker Bobo claimed a hat-trick as Glory suffered a 6-0 defeat against reigning champions Sydney FC at Allianz Stadium.

Brandon O’Neill, Adrian Mierzejewski, and Alex Brosque also found the net in a ruthless display from the current ladder leaders which saw them equal Brisbane Roar’s all-time Hyundai A-League record of 23 home games unbeaten.

Former Glory man O’Neill opened the scoring for Graham Arnold’s side midway through the first half after Glory had more than held their own in the early stages, with Mierzejewski making it 2-0 via a deflected strike close to the hour-mark.

Brosque then nodded home the third moments later and Bobo added the fourth from the spot having won the penalty himself after being impeded by Jacob Poscoliero.

Sydney’s leading scorer proceeded to complete his hat-trick with a fine, angled volley and another penalty which he again won himself after being brought down by Liam Reddy.

Despite the defeat, Glory remain sixth on the ladder ahead of back-to-back home games against Adelaide United and Melbourne City.

And there was at least one bright spot late in the piece as Callum Timmins became the latest teenager to debut for Kenny Lowe’s side this term.

Glory began the game brightly, unsettling the Sky Blues with a high press and looking threatening when in possession.

But they were stung midway through the half by a swift counter-attack which began when  Brandon Wilson was dispossessed close to the home side’s box. Mierzejewski sent Milos Ninkovic galloping over the halfway line and having burst into the box, the Serb calmly delayed his pass, allowing O’Neill to apply the simplest of close-range finishes.

Moments later Mitch Nichols just failed to stab home a Joseph Mills cross at the other end, but it was Sydney who finished the half on the front foot as Reddy was called upon to deny both Josh Brillante and Bobo before Ninkovic headed wastefully wide after fine work down the left from Michael Zullo.

Mierzejewski’s effort was then ruled out by the VAR after the midfielder was shown to have strayed offside, but there was no denying the Pole two minutes later as he cut inside from the right and found the far corner of the net with a curling effort that deflected off Alex Grant.

The home side had their tails well and truly up at this stage and Ninkovic rattled the crossbar from eight yards out before Brosque made it 3-0 on 62 minutes, meeting Zullo’s cross with a deft diving header.

Bobo then got in on the act, converting from the spot after Poscoliero had impeded him as he attempted to reach another fine cross from Zullo.

Glory’s outfield bench had an average age of just 17.5 and one of those youngsters, Jacob Italiano, came close to claiming a consolation for his side when he cut in from the left and fired in a superb strike which beat home ‘keeper Andrew Redmayne, but crashed against the crossbar.

Italiano was duly joined by fellow-youngster Timmins, but it was Reddy who took centre stage in the final ten minutes as he made fine saves to deny Wilkshire, Mierzejewski and substitute Charles Lokolingoy.

There was nothing the Glory ‘keeper could do in the last minute of normal time, however, as Mierzejewski picked out Bobo and the in-form Brazilian hooked home a stunning volley.

And deep in stoppage time, Bobo added his third and Sydney’s sixth, once again finding the net from the spot after being brought down by Reddy.

Match Details

Sydney FC 6 (O’Neill 21′, Mierzejewski 58′, Brosque 62′, Bobo (pen) 67′, 90′, (pen) 90+5′ ) Perth Glory 0 

Half time: 1-0

Allianz Stadium, Sydney

Kick-Off: 7:50 PM (Local) (7:50 PM AEDT)

Referee: Jonathan Barreiro

Assistant Referee 1: Owen Goldrick

Assistant Referee 2: Greg Taylor

Fourth Official: Ben Abraham

Video Assistant Referee: Chris Beath

Sydney FC: 1.Andrew REDMAYNE (gk), 4.Alex WILKINSON, 5.Jordy BUIJS, 6.Josh BRILLANTE, 7.Michael ZULLO, 9.BOBÔ, 10.Milos NINKOVIC (21. Charles LOKOLINGOY 82′), 11.Adrian MIERZEJEWSKI, 13.Brandon O’NEILL, 14.Alex BROSQUE (c) (17.David CARNEY 73′), 26.Luke WILKSHIRE (8.Paulo RETRE 88′)

Substitutes not used: 22.Seb RYALL, 30. Thomas HEWARD-BELLE (gk)

Yellow cards: Nil

Red cards: Nil

Perth Glory: 33.Liam REDDY (gk), 2.Alex GRANT, 5.Jacob POSCOLIERO, 6.Mitch NICHOLS, 9.Andy KEOGH (c),  14.Chris HAROLD (26.Jacob ITALIANO 57′), 15.Brandon WILSON (24.Callum TIMMINS 83′), 16.Joseph MILLS, 17.Diego CASTRO, 18. Andreu GUERAO, 29.Jeremy WALKER

Substitutes not used: 13 Nick FEELY (gk), 19.Joe KNOWLES, 27.Riley WARLAND

Yellow cards: Mills, Poscoliero

Red cards: Nil