Match Preview: Sudden death Elimination Final awaits Glory in Melbourne


After a nine goal thriller, Perth and Melbourne City will meet again in the first week of the Hyundai A-League finals in what will be a repeat of last year’s elimination final.

The two sides meet again for what could be another shoootout at AAMI Park on Sunday night.

Glory’s 5-4 triumph was the club’s second win over City this season following another eventful and wild 3-2 win in Round 3 in Melbourne and denied Michael Valkanis’s men a place in the Asian Champions League (ACL) while securing fifth spot on the ladder.

Perth will take confidence from its results and history against this week’s opponents (W10, D7, L6), but know finals are a different beast where anything is possible. 

The Elimination Final on Sunday will be Kenny Lowe’s 100th match in charge, a fantastic achievement for our longest serving manager who will be desperate to improve on last year’s finals effort.

While the neutrals will be praying for a repeat of the Round 27 spectacle, it’s fair to say Glory and City fans alike will be hoping for a match that doesn’t pump the blood pressure quite as much.

Star: Kenny Lowe


If there was ever a moment to vividly exemplify the prowess of our longest serving manager, it was bringing on Nebo Marinkovic to take a dangerous free-kick last weekend against City. Marinkovic’s strike hit the top corner and sent nib Stadium into raptures and helped land the head coach earn A-League Manager of the Week.

Lowe has guided Perth to yet another finals series having fallen three points short of ACL qualification. The Englishman, synonymous with the best goal celebrations in the league, will be hoping his 101st game in charge will be a semi-final next weekend.

Lowe insists he feels very privileged to have been at the helm for so long.

“If someone had said that (you’ll be coaching for over 100 games) off the back end of that very first season, I’d have laughed at them.” Lowe said.

He then went on to wish for another milestone.

“I’ve enjoyed my time, I hope I’m sitting here when it’s my 200th,” he said.​

Stars: Diego Castro, Andy Keogh & Adam Taggart

Castro, Keogh & Taggart

The attacking trio has it all. Their consistent scoring, chance creation and assists make them an absolute headache for any defence. They finished the regular season with 36 goals between them evenly spread at 12 goals a piece, which is a massive return and has contributed heavily to Glory’s surge to finals. 

Last Time They Met: 16th April 2017 – Round 27 – Perth Glory 5-4 Melbourne City 

Opta Stats:

  • There have been 37 goals scored in the last seven games between these teams
  • Perth Glory have scored six goals in their last two visits to AAMI Park to face Melbourne City
  • Perth Glory have scored 10 goals in the opening 15 minutes of the game so far in this campaign, the most of any team and two more than Melbourne City
  • Diego Castro has created 33 chances playing away from home so far this season, more than any other player in the competition


Sunday 23 April 2017 AAMI Park, Melbourne

Kick-Off: 5:00pm (AWST), 7:00pm (AEST)

Referee:  Chris Beath

Assistant Referee 1:  Matthew Cream

Assistant Referee 2:  Paul Cetrangolo

Fourth Official:  Jonathan Barreiro

Video Assistant Referee:  Craig Zetter

Perth Glory Squad:  

3. Marc WARREN, 5. Rhys WILLIAMS, 6. Dino DJULBIC, 7. Joel CHIANESE, 8. Rostyn GRIFFITHS (C), 9. Andy KEOGH, 10. Nebo MARINKOVIC, 11. Richard GARCIA, 13. Nick FEELY (GK), 14. Chris HAROLD, 15. Brandon WILSON, 16. Joe MILLS 17. Diego CASTRO, 18. Mitch OXBORROW, 19. Josh RISDON, 22. Adam TAGGART, 26. Lucian GOIAN, 33. Liam REDDY (GK)

**two to be omitted**

Ins:  5. Rhys WILLIAMS (promoted), 16. Joe MILLS (promoted) 

Outs:  Nil

Unavailable : 2. Alex GRANT (foot – season), 4. Shane LOWRY (quad – season)

Melbourne City FC Squad: 

1. Thomas SORENSEN (GK), 2. Manny MUSCAT, 3. Josh ROSE, 5. Ivan FRANJIC, 6. Osama MALIK, 8. Neil KILKENNY, 9. Nicolas COLAZO, 10. Anthony CACERES, 11. Bruce KAMAU, 12. Nick FITZGERALD, 14. Daniel ARZANI, 17. Tim CAHILL, 18. Paulo RETRE, 20. Dean BOUZANIS (GK), 21. Ruon TONGYIK, 22. Michael JAKOBSEN, 23. Bruno FORNAROLI (C), 26. Luke BRATTAN

**two to be omitted**

Ins:  2.Manny MUSCAT (promoted), 14. Daniel ARZANI (promoted)

Outs:  Nil

Unavailable:  7. Corey GAMEIRO (ACL – season), 27. Fernando BRANDAN (ACL – season), 28. Steve KUZMANOVSKI (ACL – season)