Match Preview: Glory travel to Adelaide


Perth take on reigning champions Adelaide United at Coopers Stadium in another massive game for the club.

Glory’s loss to newly crowned premiers Sydney FC could have derailed aspirations of a top three finish, however, Melbourne City’s shock loss to sixth-placed Western Sydney means a top three berth is still alive.

Perth is four points behind fourth-placed Brisbane Roar and third-placed Melbourne City with three games to go, and with Kenny Lowe’s men set to take on both sides at nib Stadium in the final two fixtures of the regular season, this week’s result could prove decisive in the race for a home final and a potential Asian Champions League spot.

Glory come up against an Adelaide side in season-best form, with last year’s premiers and champions notching back-to-back wins in what has been an otherwise horror season for the South Australian side.

The Reds have managed to grab maximum points over Brisbane Roar and fellow strugglers Central Coast in the previous two rounds.

While Adelaide will be playing for pride, Glory have it all to play for this Friday night.

The Lowe Down:

Kenny Lowe

The coach remains upbeat despite last week’s loss, with Lowe referring to the current Sydney side as “probably the best A-League team ever.”

The head coach insists his squad is on the same page as it remains positive in the hunt for a home final.

“The drive and ambition to do well is massively there with the group,”

“On form the last 12 games we sit 3rd…so we’re in a good space,” Lowe said.

Lowe also insisted the team must be wary of a much improved Adelaide side to the one they trounced 5-0 back in Round 19.

“They won’t want to finish with the wooden spoon after being champions last year,”

“They’ll have their own personal and professional pride that they’re fighting for,” he added.

Key Battle: Andy Keogh v Dylan McGowan

Keogh v McGowan

Our Irish marksman will be as hungry as ever to return to the scorer’s list this Friday against lowly Adelaide but will have the impressive Dylan McGowan in his way.

Despite United’s severe championship hangover this season, McGowan has been a stand out at in a defensive line constantly under pressure. Keogh’s last strike was an absolutely top class goal against Wellington in Round 22, which was his 10th of the season, and the forward will be determined to add to his already pleasing tally.

Last Time They Met: Round 19: Adelaide United 0-5 Perth Glory

Glory v Adelaide

The last time we took on United it was our best performance of the season, as Castro starred in a 5-0 demolition at Coopers Stadium. Everything seemed to click on a humid Adelaide evening, with El Maestro notching a brace, while also providing an assist for Keogh and playing a key role in the superb build-up for Adam Taggart’s strike. Kenny Lowe will most certainly be hoping for a repeat of this stunning result but knows Adelaide’s form has changed vastly since the February encounter.


Friday, 31 March 2017

Adelaide United v Perth Glory

Coopers Stadium, Adelaide

Kick-Off: 7:20PM (Local) (7:50PM (AEDT))

Referee: Alan Milliner

Assistant Referee 1: Matthew Cream

Assistant Referee 2: Paul Cetrangolo

Fourth Official: Daniel Elder


TV Broadcast: Live coverage on Fox Sports 505 from 7.00pm (AEDT), SBS VICELAND from 7.30pm AEDT and Sky Sport 3 (New Zealand)

Radio Broadcast: ABC Grandstand, Crocmedia A-League Live (www.facebook.com/A-leagueLIVERadio)

Join the conversation on Twitter using the hash-tag #ADLvPER #jmftalent #gamechanger


Adelaide United squad: 1. Eugene GALEKOVIC (GK) (C), 2. Michael MARRONE, 4. Dylan McGOWAN, 5. Taylor REGAN, 7. Jae-sung KIM, 8. ISAIAS, 9. Baba DIAWARA, 10. Marcelo CARRUSCA, 11. Sergio CIRIO, 12. Mark OCHIENG, 16. Jesse MAKAROUNAS, 17. Nikola MILEUSNIC, 18. Riley McGREE, 19. Ben GARUCCIO, 21.Tarek ELRICH, 22. Ryan KITTO, 30. Daniel MARGUSH (GK), 92. Eli BABALJ 

**two to be omitted**

Ins: 8. Riley McGREE (returns from international duty), 10. Marcelo CARRUSCA (returns from suspension), 22. Ryan KITTO (promoted) 

Outs: 14. George MELLS (not selected)

Unavailable: 3.Iacopo LA ROCCA (hip – 1 week), 23.Jordan ELSEY (knee – season), 24.Jordan O’DOHERTY (ankle – 2 weeks)

Perth Glory squad: 3. Marc WARREN, 6. Dino DJULBIC, 7. Joel CHIANESE, 9. Andy KEOGH (C), 11. Richard GARCIA, 13. Nick FEELY (GK), 14. Chris HAROLD, 15. Brandon WILSON, 16. Joe MILLS, 17. Diego CASTRO, 18. Mitch OXBORROW, 19. Josh RISDON, 20. Aryn WILLIAMS, 22. Adam TAGGART, 23. Kosta PETRATOS, 26. Lucian GOIAN, 28. Joe KNOWLES, 33. Liam REDDY (GK)

**two to be omitted**

Ins: 15.Brandon WILSON (promoted), 23.Kosta PETRATOS (promoted), 28.Joe KNOWLES (promoted)

Outs: 10.Nebo MARINKOVIC (groin – 1 week)

Unavailable: 2.Alex GRANT (foot – season), 4.Shane LOWRY (quad – season), 5.Rhys WILLLIAMS (suspended – 1 match), 8.Rostyn GRIFFITHS (quad – 1 week)