Glory Women nominated for PFA Award


Perth Glory Women stars Samantha Kerr and Caitlin Foord have both been nominated for the PFA Women’s Footballer of the Year Award.

Along with the other four nominees, Elise Kellond-Knight, Emily van Egmond, Laura Alleway and Lydia Williams, Kerr and Foord were instrumental to Australia’s success at the 2015 Women’s World Cup. 

Both Glory women played all 90 minutest in each of the five Matildas matches at the tournament. 

Sam Kerr is the only current nominee to have previously won the award, collecting the honours for the 2012/13 season.

As team mates on the national team and at Glory, Foord and Kerr will be happy with whomever comes away with the medal.

“There’s nothing but good vibes. As team mates we’re competitive in a sense, but not competitive on an unhealthy level. I would be over the moon for whoever won,” said Kerr.

The PFA Award is voted on by all of the PFA’s female members, a fact that was not lost on Caitlin Foord.

“It’s a big privilege being voted for by your peers, means more than any other award, I think anyway. It means the team, the players you play with value you and your contributions to the team,” said Foord.

In addition to their contributions to the Matildas success at the World Cup, Kerr and Foord were also key components for Glory Women as they lifted the premiers plate in 2014.

Sam Kerr was second on the team with 11 goals, and Foord chipped in another five.

This Westfield W-League season has presented challenges for both players, however.

Kerr injured her ankle in round 5 against Brisbane Roar and has been ruled out for the rest of the campaign.

Foord has only made three starts so far this season, missing time due to Matildas duty as well as a hamstring injury.

Caitlin Foord should make her fourth start of the campaign this Sunday against Sydney FC as Ashfield Reserve.

Kick-off is at 4pm AWST and ticket information is available HERE.

Entry is free for all Glory members.