Glory Quiz – Seasons in the Sun


As the dust settles on the 2019/20 Hyundai A-League season, the 15th in the competition’s history, we thought we’d mark it with a bumper quiz featuring a question about each and every one of Glory’s campaigns.

So why not ease you way into the weekend by testing your knowledge and then check the answers and see how your score rates by scrolling down below Question 15?

Good Luck!

1) Who was Glory’s Head Coach for their first ever A-League game against the Mariners in August 2005?

a) Mich d’Avray b) Steve McMahon c) Alan Vest

2) Stan Lazaridis joined Glory ahead of the 2006-07 season from which English club?

Stan Lazaridis heading the ball

a) Birmingham City b) West Ham United c) Crystal Palace

3) Striker Mate Dragicevic, who played six times for Glory during the 2007-08 campaign, had previously been capped by which country at Under-21 level?

a) Croatia b) Serbia c) Romania

4) Who were Glory’s joint-top-scorers in 2008-09 with ten goals apiece?

a) James Robinson & Eugene Dadi b) Nikita Rukavytsya & Adrian Trinidad c) Nikita Rukavystsya & Eugene Dadi

5) Which two Glory players missed penalties in the 2009-10 Elimination Final against Wellington Phoenix?

a) Scott Bulloch & Steven McGarry b) Scott Bulloch & Naum Sekulovski c) Daniel McBreen & Tommy Amphlett

6) How many goals did Robbie Fowler score from open play in the 2010-11 campaign?

Robbie Fowler celebrates v Melbourne Heart

a) 6 b) 8 c) 10

7) Who won the Most Glorious Player Award for the 2011-12 season?

a) Josh Risdon b) Shane Smeltz c) Jacob Burns

8) Who scored Glory’s goal in the opening game of the 2012-13 campaign against Brisbane Roar at Subiaco Oval?

Glory v Wellington 2012 - Billy Mehmet celebrates

a) Shane Smeltz b) Billy Mehmet c) Liam Miller

9) Which Brazilian import scored three times for Glory in 2013-14?

a) Andrezinho b) Sidnei Sciola c) Amaral

10) How many regular-season games did Glory win in 2014-15 prior to being denied a Finals berth due to salary cap violations?

a) 12 b) 13 c) 14

11) Which team defeated Glory in the 2015-16 Elimination Final?

a) Melbourne City b) Melbourne Victory c) Adelaide United

12) Who was Glory’s top scorer in the 2016-17 season with 13 goals?

a) Andy Keogh b) Adam Taggart c) Diego Castro

13) Who was the only Glory player to be sent off in the 2017-18 campaign?

a) Liam Reddy b) Dino Djulbic c) Shane Lowry

14) Who scored Glory’s third goal in extra-time during the 2018-19 Semi Final win over Adelaide United?

a) Diego Castro b) Scott Neville c) Joel Chianese

15) Where did Glory play their Round 25 game against Melbourne Victory during the NSW hub?

Glory v Victory - hub - Jake Brimmer on the ball

a) Bankwest Stadium b) Netsrata Jubilee Stadium c) Lambert Park




1) b, 2) a, 3) a, 4) c, 5) b, 6) a, 7) a, 8) b, 9) b, 10) c, 11) a, 12) c, 13) a, 14) b, 15) b


0-5 – this is the quiz equivalent of Mate Dragicevic’s goal record for the club – and that’s not intended as a compliment to either you or Mate!

6-10 – much more like it! You’ve definitely secured a top-six finish with this performance

11-15 – Grand Final here we come! You’ve produced a score to remember – well done!