Glory prevail in Wild West shootout


Firstly lets take a look back at our Crazy ‘home and away season’ Finale.

Perth Glory has recorded one of the ultimate Hyundai A-League classics at nib Stadium on the final round of the season, overpowering Melbourne City 5-4

Glory needed to win by a net margin of four goals, and the team started in spectacular fashion as more than 12-thousand people were treated to an absolute spectacle, with the dress rehearsal for next week’s do-or-die Elimination Final ending in spectacular fashion.

First half goals from Diego Castro and Tim Cahill were backed up by an astonishing seven strikes, with Glory edging to a confidence boosting win. 

It was an enthralling first 45 minutes, with both sides desperate to go into the finals campaign with some momentum.

It only took five minutes for Glory to open the scoring, with Diego Castro netting his 12th goal of the season from the penalty spot after Neil Kilkenny was judged to have fouled Adam Taggart inside the area.

Perth needed to win by four goals to secure a home final and continued to press for more, but it was City who struck next.

Bruce Kamau’s pin-point cross found Socceroo Tim Cahill free on the edge of the area and the veteran slotted home to equalise at the 21-minute mark.

Both keepers had to be on their toes with the high-intensity encounter forcing superb saves from Liam Reddy and Dean Bouzanis from close-range headers.


The pulsating action rolled on in the second stanza with Kenny Lowe’s men showing an abundance of determination and drive.

Their courage was rewarded on 55 minutes with Risdon’s superb cross finding substitute Chris Harold whose header smashed against the ground and into the net.

Glory made it 4-1 with a quarter of the game remaining, as Nebo Marinkovic found the top corner with a free-kick and his first touch of the match after entering the fray in place of Mitch Oxborrow. But the action didn’t end there. 

City pulled it back to 4-3 courtesy of Cahill and Argentine Nicolas Colazo, but their late push was quashed thanks to Adam Taggart’s tap-in despite substitute Nick Fitzgerald’s long range effort after Reddy was caught off his line.

The roller coaster encounter came to a close with Perth holding on for a memorable 5-4 victory.

Glory will head to AAMI Park next weekend to face Melbourne City in a repeat of last year’s elimination final fixture.

Tickets go on sale tomorrow .


Key Moments: 

First Half

5′ | GOAL – Castro converts from the spot after Neil Kilkenny brings down Taggart in the box (1-0).
12′ | Osama Malik’s header from a City free-kick is on target but cleared Lucian Goian.
21′ | GOAL – Kamau finds Cahill in space at the top of box and slots home to restore parity (1-1).
26′ | Reddy is forced into a smart diving save from Fornaroli’s close-range header.
32′ | Castro’s free-kick finds Goian at the back post who heads to Garcia, but his header is saved acrobatically by Bouzanis.

Second Half

51′ | GOAL – Keogh makes it 2-1 to Glory with a smart finish at Bouzanis’s near post.
53′ | Fornaroli dribbles into the Glory area and his strike rifles against the crossbar.
55′ | GOAL – Risdon’s superb cross finds substitute Harold whose header smashes against the ground and into the net (3-1).
75′ | GOAL – Marinkovic comes on as a sub and immediately adds another as his free-kick finds the top corner (4-1).
81′ | GOAL – Cahill manages to find room and slot home from close range (4-2).
85′ | GOAL – Cahill tees up Colazo on the volley, the Argentine’s out swinging shot finds the bottom near corner (4-3).
89′ | GOAL – Taggart makes is 5-3 from Harold’s low cross with a tap in following a swift counter attack.
90+ | GOAL – Fitzgerald finishes from long range (5-4).


Perth Glory: 33. Liam REDDY (GK), 6. Dino DJULBIC, 7. Joel CHIANESE (14. Chris HAROLD 53′), 9. Andy KEOGH, 11. Richard GARCIA (C) (8. Rostyn GRIFFITHS 58′), 16. Joe MILLS, 17. Diego CASTRO, 18. Mitch OXBORROW, 19. Josh RISDON, 22. Adam TAGGART, 26. Lucian GOIAN

Unused subs: 3. Marc WARREN, 13. Nick FEELY (GK), 15. Brandon WILSON

Yellow Cards: 3. Marc WARREN 27′, 26. Lucian GOIAN 79′

Red Cards:  Nil

Melbourne City: 20. Dean BOUZANIS (GK), 3. Josh ROSE, 5. Ivan FRANJIC, 6. Osama MALIK, 8. Neil KILKENNY, 9. Nicholas COLAZO, 11. Bruce KAMAU (2. Nick FITZGERALD 62′), 17. Tim CAHILL, 22. Michael JAKOBSEN, 23. Bruno FORNAROLI, 26. Luke BRATTAN (10. Anthony CACERES 73′)

Unused subs: 1. Thomas Sorensen (GK), 18. Pual RETRE, 21. Ruon TONGYIK

Yellow Cards: 17. Tim CAHILL 28′22. Michael JAKOBSEN 44′, 6. Osama MALIK 60′, 3. Josh ROSE 65′, 26. Luke BRATTAN 70′

Red Cards: Nil