A resurgent Perth Glory travel to Melbourne Victory at AAMI Park this Friday night after restoring their early season form with a strong 4-2 victory against Wellington Phoenix last week.

A resurgent Perth Glory travel to AAMI Park this Friday night to take on Melbourne Victory on the back of a strong 4-2 victory against Wellington Phoenix last week.

The Victorians on the other hand have been enduring a tough run since the appointment of Ange Postecoglou as Socceroos coach, taking just 4 points from a possible 15. Victory suffered a 2-1 defeat at home to Newcastle Jets in the Hyundai A-League’s 1000th match, courtesy of a goal either side of half-time from Nathan Burns.

Perth Glory have not defeated Victory since an exhilarating 3-2 win at AAMI Park in Round 26 last year, with Josh Risdon scoring his first A-League goal with a 93rd minute curling effort which sealed Glory’s place in the 2012-2013 Hyundai A-League Finals Series. Glory were subsequently knocked out of the finals series with a 2-1 loss to Victory in dramatic circumstances; two penalties in the last 45 seconds of the match and an extra time winner, sending the Dark Blues through to play the Central Coast Mariners in the semi-final.

Last week, Glory fielded ten players under the age of 22 against Phoenix, including impressive starting debuts for Danny de Silva and Riley Woodcock. The younger contingent of Glory’s lineup excelled under pressure, putting Phoenix to the sword with a 4-2 victory after being 2-1 down earlier in the match.

Glory will be bolstered by the return of influential skipper Jacob Burns who returns from a 2-match-suspension. Burns- match-fitness was proved during the week when played 45 minutes in a 9-0 midweek win over Malaysian outfit Felda United and even managed to get on the scoresheet with a penalty against the Malaysian side.

Unfortunately, Burns- return is offset by the withdrawal of Sidnei Sciola Moraes, who misses the match through injury. It is bad timing for Sidnei, who is coming off his best match for the club against Wellington, after scoring two goals and setting up another.

The Glory defence will have to keep an eye on in-form attacking midfielder James Troisi, who has scored six goals in the first nine rounds of the 2013-2014 Hyundai A-League Season. Troisi scored last week against the Jets and sits at the top of the goal-scoring ladder alongside Jets’ Adam Taggart. Adelaide-born Troisi is on loan to the Victorian side from Serie A outfit Atalanta and has been extremely impressive in his first season in Australia.

Archie Thompson, Kosta Barbarouses and Mitch Nichols will also pose a significant threat to Perth Glory, with each all contributing goals so far this season. Glory will be relying on their young defence marshalled by the experienced Michael Thwaite to keep it tight at the back.

Expected to be played in front of Glory-s biggest crowd this year, the Melbourne versus Perth clash has always been a high-scoring fixture in the Hyundai A-League. Which team will fire this Friday night?


Friday, 13 December 2013
Melbourne Victory v Perth Glory
AAMI Park, Melbourne
Kick-off: 7.30pm local (7:30pm AEDT)
Referee: Peter Green

TV broadcast: 6.30pm (AEDT) Live coverage on FOX Sports 1HD, SBS 2 and Sky Sport 3 (New Zealand).

Radio Broadcast: 774 ABC Melbourne, ABC Local Radio Victoria,936 ABC Hobart, ABC Northern Tasmania, 720 ABC Perth, ABC Local Radio WA (from 9pm AEDT). Full coverage on Grandstand Digital and Online/Mobile phone app. and SBS Radio.

Join the conversation on Twitter using the hash-tag #MVCvPER
To purchase tickets visit www.aleague.com.au/tickets

Melbourne Victory Squad: 1. Nathan COE (GK), 2. Pablo CONTRERAS, 3. Adama TRAORE, 4.Nick ANSELL, 5. Mark MILLIGAN, 6. Leigh BROXHAM, 7. Gui FINKLER, 9. Kosta BARBAROUSES, 10. Archie THOMPSON, 11. Connor PAIN, 13. Andrew NABBOUT, 14. James TROISI, 15. Mitch NICHOLS, 16. Rashid MAHAZI, 20. Lawrence THOMAS (GK), 23. Adrian LEIJER, 24, Scott GALLOWAY. 25, Jason GERIA (two to be omitted)

Ins: Archie THOMPSON (returns from injury), Scott GALLOWAY (promoted)

Perth Glory Squad: 1.Daniel VUKOVIC (GK), 2.Jack CLISBY, 3.Brandon O-NEILL, 4.Ryan EDWARDS, 6.Cameron EDWARDS, 7. Jacob BURNS, 8.Ryo NAGAI, 10.Jamie MACLAREN, 14.Steven McGARRY, 17. Chris HAROLD, 18.Jack DUNCAN, 20. Danny DE SILVA, 22. Ndumba MAKECHE, 23.Michael THWAITE, 24.Matthew DAVIES, 25. Riley WOODCOCK

Ins: 7. Jacob BURNS (returns from suspension), 22. Ndumba MAKECHE (promoted)
Outs: 11. Adrian ZAHRA (omitted), 16.Sidnei SCIOLA MORAES (Hamstring injury)

Perth Glory 4-2 Wellington Phoenix (Half-time 1-1)
nib Stadium
Friday 6th December 2013
Attendance: 8232
Referee: Matthew Gillett

Perth Glory Team: 1.Daniel VUKOVIC (GK), 2.Jack CLISBY, 4.Ryan EDWARDS (11. Adrian ZAHRA 59-), 10.Jamie MACLAREN (22. Ndumba MAKECHE 59-), 14.Steven McGARRY, 16.Sidnei SCIOLA MORAES, 17. Chris HAROLD, 20. Danny DE SILVA, 6.Cameron EDWARDS 46-) 23.Michael THWAITE, 24.Matthew DAVIES, 25. Riley WOODCOCK

Subs not used: 18.Jack DUNCAN (GK), 3.Brandon O-NEILL,
Goals: 16. Sidnei SCIOLA MORAES (15-, 90-) 23. Michael THWAITE (60-) 11. Adrian Zahra (82-)

Wellington Phoenix Team: 1.Glen Moss (GK), 3. Reece Caira, 8. Paul Ifill (15. Jason Hicks 71-), 9. Kenny Cunningham (7. Leo Bertos 78-), 10. Stein Huysegems, 11. Jeremy Brockie, 13. Albert Riera (23. Matthew Ridenton 73-), 16. Louis Fenton, 17. Vince Lia, 18. Ben Sigmund, 22. Andrew Durante (capt),

Subs not used: 20. Lewis Italiano (GK), 5. Michael Boxall
Goals: 10. Stein Huysegems (36-) 8. Paul Ifill (49-)