Glory edged out by Stirling in Night Series

The PGFC Academy First Team’s 100% start to their NPL WA Night Series campaign came to an end on Saturday as they were beaten 1-0 by Stirling Macedonia at Percy Doyle Reserve.

Stirling also came into the game having won two from two and a second-half goal from former Glory man Michael Domfeh proved enough to secure a third victory for Ian Ferguson’s side.

There was an unfamiliar look to the Glory line-up, with four regular starters having been drafted into the A-League squad and their cause was further hindered by the loss of two players to injury in the first half.

That opening period saw Alex Taneski head against the post for Stirling, with Calvin Whitney also denied by the woodwork, while Glory’s best chance fell to Jayden Gorman who fizzed an angled shot narrowly over the bar.

Gorman again went close on the hour-mark, this time cutting in from the left and striking the junction of bar and post with a fine, curling effort.

But it was the men in red who struck the decisive blow ten minutes later, the lively Domfeh finishing from close-range and they would have increased their lead in the latter stages had Adrian Sinagra not made several impressive saves.

Despite the defeat, the Academy youngsters remain second in Group B and could take a major step towards a Semi-Final berth by downing winless Bayswater City on Saturday.

Kick-off at Frank Drago Reserve is at 5pm.

Match Details

Stirling Macedonia 1 (Domfeh 70′) PGFC Academy First Team 0

Half-time: 0-0

Percy Doyle Reserve

Referee: Matthew Southern

Stirling Macedonia: 1.Liam PRICE (GK), 2.Ryan MALTON, 4.Christian JANKULOSKI, 5.Luke PALMATEER, 7.Asher NELSON, 8.Gyles DAVIES, 9.Michael DOMFEH, 13.Calvin WHITNEY, 14.Shay DONOVAN, 15.Luke GARAS, 17.Alex TANESKI

Substitutes: 1.Kai MATTHEWS (GK), 2.Matt LENZO, 3.Adrian KOLOS, 6.Dejan SPASESKI, 10.Gordon DAU, 20.Preston GILLING

PGFC Academy First Team: 1.Adrian SINAGRA (GK), 4.Jacob MUIR, 5.Lucas COOK, 6.Chris DONNELL (C), 9.Trent OSTLER, 10.Jayden LEADER, 13.Danny DOUGLAS, 20.Judd MACDOUGALL, 22.Jayden GORMAN, 25.Tyler VECCHIO, 32.Josh ANASMO

Substitutes: 30.Keegan GRANT (GK), 15.Aiki TSUKAMOTO, 19.Lebib LEBIB, 23.Joe HOBSON, 24.Daniel WALSH, 31.Lucas ROSSI

(picture courtesy of Tom McCarthy)