Ferguson DELIGHTED with 5-0 WIN


Perth Glory’s preparations for the upcoming Hyundai A-League season continued in fine form today with a 5-0 win over Football West Premier League leaders Bayswater City at Frank Drago Reserve.

Having seen his side overcome the WA State team 3-0 on Tuesday night, Perth Glory coach Ian Ferguson made several changes to his starting eleven, with Travis Dodd, Nick Ward and Steve McGarry starting, and after the game the coach expressed his satisfaction with the performance of his side.

“I was delighted with the first half and the way we moved the ball,” Ferguson said.

“We were patient again, we made some great runs and we created numerous opportunities.

“Things are going well at the moment and we still have five games to go (in pre-season) so we will take it from there.”

Star striker Shane Smeltz though did not appear in the game, with the New Zealand international rested after making his playing return earlier in the week, yet his absence though did little to quell the Glory-s attacking start to the game, and they were ahead within the first two minutes, with Billy Mehmet heading home after a brilliant cross from the left by Scott Jamieson.

The combination of Jamieson and Dean Heffernan down the left flank caused numerous problems for Bayswater in the first half, and both were involved in the Glory-s second, with Jamieson again the provider as Travis Dodd volleyed home in sublime fashion at the front post in the 18th minute.

A neat cut back by Liam Miller in the 24th minute then set up Steve McGarry as he made it 3-0 to the Glory with a calm finish past Gianni Papalia, before Ward failed to make it four as he skied over the bar from seven yards just before the break.

The miss by the midfielder through, was soon made-up for after half-time, as a glorious lofted pass by substitute Adrian Zahra set up Mehmet, who calmly chipped over Papalia for his second of the day in the 58th minute before Zahra then turned scorer ten minutes later as netted his second pre-season goal to round out a 5-nil win for Perth Glory.