Draw keeps in-form youngsters on course for Semis


The PGFC Academy First Team remain on course for a Semi-Final spot after battling out a 0-0 draw with Bayswater City on Saturday.

A strong, swirling wind made conditions difficult at Frank Drago Reserve, but Richard Garcia’s side still managed to create the better chances and only a string of late saves from former Glory ‘keeper Jackson Lee prevented the visitors from claiming all three points.

The draw extended the youngsters’ unbeaten run to four games and saw them retain top spot in the Lower Table standings with two games left to play.

During an attritional first-half relatively low on clear-cut chances, it was Glory who went closest to breaking the deadlock on the stroke of half-time when Joseph Forde drew a spectacular, one-handed save from Lee with a well-struck shot from just inside the box.

City responded early in the second half through Luke Salmon who was foiled at close-range by Sam Reilly, while at the other end, Lee kept Bryce Bafford at bay before Forde fired wide in a one-on-one situation.

The game really opened up in the final half-hour, Konstantinos Sparta shaving the post for the hosts with a 22m effort and Glory’s Aiden Edwards then clearing Gordon Smith’s header off the line.

But it was the Bayswater goal that was under siege late on, with Edwards and fellow-substitutes Albert Fullard and Jayden Leader all forcing Lee into action during a frantic finale.

In the day’s other games, meanwhile, Glory’s Under-18s and Under-20s suffered respective 2-0 and 4-2 defeats.

All three sides return to action on Saturday against Balcatta at Grindleford Reserve, with the Under-18s kicking off at 11am, followed by the Under-20s at 1pm and the First Team at 3pm.

Match Details

Bayswater City 0-0 Perth Glory

Half-time: 0-0

Referee: Josh Mannella

Bayswater City: 1.Jackson LEE, 5.David STOKOE, 8.Gordon SMITH, 9.Gustavo GIRON MARALUNDA (C) (14.Gomo DUKULY 64′), 10.Jason MIRCO, 12.Steven HESKETH, 22.Luke SALMON, 26.Zayd FARAH, 27.Declan HUGHES, 28.Konstantinos SPARTA (15.Shaun MUKWEVHO 85′), 29.Dean CUMMINGS (11.Ryan PEARSON 76′)

Substitutes not used: 16.Alex MCLEAN, 25.Patrick STEPHENSON

Yellow Cards: Mirco, Salmon

Red Cards: None

Perth Glory: 1.Sam REILLY, 2.Mason TATAFU, 6.Aiki TSUKAMOTO, 7.Joseph FORDE (3.Albert FULLARD 74′), 8.Chris DONNELL (16.Aiden EDWARDS 61′), 10.Giordano COLLI (C), 11.Charlie LEECH (19.Jayden LEADER 83′), 14.Bryce BAFFORD, 15.Aiden COYNE, 17.Nick WALSH, 20.Josh RAWLINS

Substitutes not used: 18.Manolo VENERACION, 12.Kade WHITE (GK)

Yellow Cards: Donnell, Rawlins

Red Cards: None

(picture courtesy of Tom McCarthy)