Castro & Risdon named in PFA Team of the Season


A year of high achievement continues for Perth Glory stars Diego Castro & Josh Risdon, who have both been selected in the Professional Footballers Australia (PFA) Team of the 2015-16 Season.

Castro and Risdon’s selection in the squad is just another shining indicator of Glory’s resurgent Hyundai A-League season. Despite a slow start to the campaign, Glory incredibly surged into the A-League finals, winning 10 of their last 12 regular season matches to jump from 9th to 5th position. Both Castro and Risdon played key roles in the club’s Season 11 campaign.

Brisbane Roar’s Jade North was named captain of the side, the ex-Glory defender praised the quality of the squad and the league.

“The recognition of your fellow professionals is the highest honour you can receive as a player,” North said. 

“The standard across the league has never been higher, and this is reflected in what is truly an outstanding PFA A-League Team of the Season.”

The selection in the side caps off a week of individual accolades for Castro, who became Perth Glory’s second Johnny Warren Medal winner in 12 years on Tuesday night, edging Melbourne City’s Aaron Mooy by a single vote. ‘El Maestro’ found the back of the net 13 times and claimed 4 assists in 26 matches in Purple, and Glory did not lose in the 11 matches he scored in (8 wins, 3 draws).

It was also a season to remember for Risdon, who is recognised as the best right fullback in the league with his selection. Risdon stepped up into a captaincy role in Richard Garcia’s absence through the second half of the season, leading Glory admirably at the age of just 23 years old. Since then, Risdon has also debuted and played his first two matches for the Socceroos, appearing against Bangladesh and Jordan in two Russia 2018 FIFA World Cup Qualifiers.

The Glory duo join some of the league’s best players in the squad, including Melbourne City’s Bruno Fornaroli and Aaron Mooy, Brisbane Roar’s Jamie Maclaren and Corona and Western Sydney Wanderers’ Mitch Nichols and Scott Jamieson. Intriguingly, no players were selected from Adelaide United’s Premiership winning squad, although head coach and FC Barcelona legend Guillermo Amor was named as the Manager of the Season.

Castro and Risdon are tipped to be the two frontrunners for the QBE Perth Glory Most Glorious Player Award, to be presented on May 7. Be there to see who will be crowned Most Glorious Player, among a raft of club awards set to be presented on the night. Click here for details of the night and purchase your tickets by clicking here.


Full PFA Team of the Season Squad
Formation: 4-3-3

Starting XI: Thomas SORENSEN (Melbourne City), Josh RISDON (Perth Glory), Matthieu DELPIERRE (Melbourne Victory), Jade NORTH (Brisbane Roar), Scott JAMIESON (Western Sydney Wanderers), CORONA (Brisbane Roar), Aaron MOOY (Melbourne City), Diego CASTRO (Perth Glory), Jamie MACLAREN (Brisbane Roar), Bruno FORNAROLI (Melbourne City), Harry NOVILLO (Melbourne City).

Subs: Mark BIRIGHITTI (Newcastle Jets), Nikolai TOPOR-STANLEY (Western Sydney Wanderers), Mitch NICHOLS (Western Sydney Wanderers), Roly BONEVACIA (Wellington Phoenix), Kosta BARBAROUSES (Melbourne Victory).

Coach: Guillermo AMOR (Adelaide United)
Referee: Strebre DELOVSKI