Youngsters make it a Glorious double


A memorable weekend for the club was rounded off at Dorrien Gardens on Sunday evening when our NPL WA side secured an impressive 1-0 win over Perth SC in their opening game of the season.

The all-important goal arrived on 33 minutes when the impressive Jake Brimmer whipped in a low cross from the left and former Socceroos defender Adrian Madaschi contrived to bundle the ball into his own net.

Glory had earlier gone close through Henry Hore whose shot was well kept out by home ‘keeper Francis Soale, while Daniel Stynes came close to making it 2-0 early in the second half via a long-range volley.

Perth mounted some sustained pressure in the latter stages, but the visitors defended stoutly to keep them at bay and leave Head Coach John Gibson more than satisfied.

“We’re pretty happy. It was a complete performance from us,” he said.

“The maturity of the group is a concept we’ve been working on in terms of managing games and being aware of situations.

“We are transitioning from youth league football to men’s football, but the group have confidence and belief in what we’re doing.”

“We’ve set some goals and we’re working really hard as a unit to defend as a team, which is vital if we want to gain success in this league.

“It’s important to respect the result tonight and enjoy the rewards of a win in a game like this, but it doesn’t mean anything if we don’t back it up against Balcatta next week.”

Earlier in the day, Glory’s Under-18s enjoyed a 1-0 win, while the Under-20s suffered a 3-1 defeat.

Match Details

Perth SC 0 Perth Glory 1 (Madaschi o.g. 33′)
Sunday 25 February 2018
Dorrien Garden
Local kick-off: 7:00pm
Referee: Nico Hoyle

Perth SC: GK: Francis SOALE, 2. Alex SILLA, 4. Adrian MADASCHI, 6. Harley ORR, 7. Aleksander JOVIC (5. Niccolo SABATINI 67’), 9. Gustavo CATARCIONE, 10. Nicholas AMBROGIO (14. Kristan SANTICH 62’), 12. Jordan DE LEO, 16. Kieran COLWELL, 17. Frank FURFARO (3. Andreas THEODOSIADES 55’), 18. Richard HOWLES

Substitutes not used: RGK: Daniel PASSARELLI, 13. Rocco PIZZATA
Yellow Cards: Colwell 29’, Furfaro 36’, De Leo 40’, Theodosiades 88’
Red Cards: Nil

Perth Glory: GK: Jackson LEE, 2. Luca BODNAR, 3. Walter SCOTT, 4. Riley WARLAND (15. Daniel WALSH 69’), 5. Ollie ANNIS, 6. Callum TIMMINS, 7. Chok DAU, 8. Jake BRIMMER (13. Daniel STYNES 57’), 9. Joseph KNOWLES, 10. Henry HORE, 11. Yacoub MUSTAFA

Substitutes not used: 12. Jack LEECH, 14. Michael DOMFEH, 16. Michael MCDOUGALL
Yellow Cards: Bodnar 54’
Red Cards: Nil

With thanks to Tommy Doleman