Westfield W-League season launched


The stars of the Westfield W-League gathered in Sydney today to launch the 2016/17 season of the Westfield W-League.

One local and one international star from each club were on hand to kick-start the new season under the tagline ‘Be Real Be Remarkable’.

The global nature of football was the focal point of proceedings via the unveiling of a mural in Pitt St Mall that details the many locations across the globe where Westfield W-League players have plied their trade.

Indeed over 20 nations have been represented in the Westfield W-League, with USA international Erika Tymrak and England forward Natasha Dowie among those in attendance today, while former Women’s World Cup winner Yukari Kinga of Japan is the headline recruit for Canberra United.

Also present were a host of Westfield Matildas stars including Brisbane Roar’s Clare Polkinghorne, Canberra’s Michelle Heyman, Melbourne City’s Steph Catley, Perth Glory’s Sam Kerr, Sydney FC’s Kyah Simon and Alanna Kennedy, as well Western Sydney Wanderers captain Caitlin Cooper.

The 2016/17 season commences this weekend with interest in women’s football at an all-time high, following the success of the recent Westfield W-League seasons, as well as breakthrough showings by the Westfield Matildas at the recent Rio Olympics and last year’s FIFA Women’s World Cup.

“I’m sure the players will take the game to new heights in the 2016/17 season of the Westfield W-League,” said Football Federation Australia CEO David Gallop.

“This season we will have 19 double-headers along with the Hyundai A-League, with 14 of them on air.

“So Be Real, Be Remarkable, and get out there and support the Westfield W-League.”

This season’s competition opens with a traditional heavyweight match-up between Brisbane Roar and Sydney FC at Spencer Park on Saturday 5 November (4pm local).

Sunday’s matches include Melbourne City hosting Newcastle Jets (CB Smith Reserve, 3pm), Perth Glory at home to Western Sydney Wanderers (nib Stadium, 6.30pm local) and the TV match between Adelaide United and Melbourne Victory at Coopers Stadium (2pm local, 2.30pm AEST).

The season will conclude with the Grand Final on Sunday 12 February.

FOX SPORTS and ABC Television will broadcast 14 matches throughout the regular season as well as every match in the 2017 Finals Series.

#BeReal #BeRemarkable