Westfield W-League Match Preview – Bobby and co ready for Roar


“The sooner we start, the better”.

That is the upbeat message from Head Coach Bobby Despotovski ahead of Sunday’s Westfield W-League season-opener against Brisbane Roar at Suncorp Stadium.

Glory will head east minus Sam Kerr and Nikki Stanton who are both serving one-game suspensions for yellow cards accumulated last season, while Morgan Aquino, Jacynta Galabadaarachchi and Leticia McKenna are all away on international duty with the Young Matildas.

But Despotovski remains quietly confident that his charges can make a winning start.

“The group is absolutely raring to go after a longish pre-season,” he said, “and the sooner kick-off time comes around, the better.

“Like all players at this stage of the year, ours have had enough of training and just want to get out there and play.

“We will be missing a number of players which is not ideal, but Brisbane will be in the same boat. So we’ll go over and give it our best shot and there’s no reason why we can’t come away with the win.” 

Glory did exactly that last year, with Rachel Hill announcing herself on the Westfield W-League scene by bagging a hat-trick which included this strike that earned the American striker the Goal of the Round award.


Team News

Hill is expected to line up against Roar again on Sunday and could be joined in the side by fellow-Americans Katie Naughton and Alyssa Mautz.

Centre-back Naughton is set to debut having enjoyed a stellar campaign in the NWSL with Chicago Red Stars, while Mautz will be out to recapture the kind of form she showed during her first season with the club two years ago.

Fellow-new arrival Eliza Campbell is poised to start in goal and the versatile Grace Henry could also make her first appearance in purple.

Tash Rigby and Allira Toby

Past Meetings

Glory struggled in the Sunshine State during the early years of the W-League, failing to win on any of their first four visits.

They finally secured a maiden victory in November 2015, however and followed that up with last season’s spectacular 4-1 triumph.

Unfortunately, Despotovski’s side were unable to repeat the trick when they faced Roar in the return fixture, going down 2-0 at Dorrien Gardens.

One to Watch

Eliza Campbell v WA State Team

Eliza Campbell is widely regarded as one of the best ‘keepers in the country and very much a part of the Matildas set-up. 

An agile shot-stopper who is also a fine distributor, her assured presence can only bolster Glory’s backline this term.

Match Details

Sunday, 28 October 2018

Brisbane Roar FC v Perth Glory

Venue: Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane

Kick-Off: 1:30PM (Local) (11.30AM WST)

Referee: Rachel Mitchenson

Assistant Referee 1: Nathan MacDonald

Assistant Referee 2: Max Crane

Fourth Official: Lara Lee

TV Broadcast: Live coverage on FOX SPORTS 505 from 2.00pm (AEDT), SBS VICELAND from 2:00pm (AEDT) and My Football Live App, Live Fast and Data Free for Telstra mobile customers

Join the conversation on Twitter using the hashtag #BRIvPER

To purchase tickets visit www.w-league.com.au/tickets

Brisbane Roar FC squad: 2.Carson PICKETT, 4.Clare POLKINGHORNE (c), 5.Jenna MCCORMICK, 6.Celeste BOUREILLE, 9.Chioma UBOGAGU, 10.Katrina GORRY, 11.Natalie TATHEM, 12.Allira TOBY, 14.Summer O’BRIEN, 15.Abbey LLOYD, 18.Leah DAVIDSON, 19.Hollie PALMER, 21.Danielle WARD, 22.Anna MARGRAF, 30.Elli CHAPPLE (gk), 40.Kezia PRITCHARD (gk)

**one to be omitted**

Unavailable: 7.Indiah-Paige RILEY (international duty – 1 week), 8.Kaitlyn TORPEY (international duty – 1 week), 16.Hayley RASO (back – TBC), 20.Annie GROVE (gk) (international duty – 1 week)

Perth Glory FC squad: 1.Eliza CAMPBELL (gk), 2.Sarah CARROLL, 3.Kim CARROLL (c), 4.Alyssa MAUTZ, 5.Shannon MAY, 6.Abbey MEAKINS, 9.Rachel HILL, 13.Jamie-Lee GALE, 14.Caitlin DOEGLAS, 15.Alexia MORENO, 17.Liana COOK, 18. Isabella FOLETTA, 23.Stacey CAVILL (gk),24.Natasha RIGBY, 25.Katie NAUGHTON

Unavailable: 7.Nicole STANTON (suspended – 1 week), 20.Sam KERR (suspended – 1 week), 10.Jacynta GALABADAARACHCHI (international duty), 11.Leticia MCKENNA (international duty), 21.Morgan AQUINO (international duty)