Wanderers clash De Silva’s Swan Song


Perth Glory FC will travel to Western Sydney to face the Wanderers at Pirtek stadium on Saturday for what will be the final match in the Hyundai A-League regular season for both teams.

For young gun Danny De Silva it will be the last time the 18 year old dons the purple kit, before he heads off to join Italian football giants AS Roma.

“It’s going to be an emotional day for me, I’ve learnt a lot in my time here so yeah it’s a bit sad but it’s also exciting at the same time” he said.

De Silva, who made his debut for the club against Sydney FC and Alessandro Del Piero at just 15, said he wanted to make sure the team ended its season on a high, albeit away from home.

“It’s a massive game and my last game, so of course I want to make sure we end the season on a positive note, it’s what you play for and that is to win” he said.

De Silva, who set up the first goal for hat-trick hero Jamie Maclaren in last week’s 3-1 win over Melbourne City at nib Stadium, said scoring a goal in the last game of the season would be nice but wasn’t the priority.

“Look, to seal off the season with a goal would be a dream but I would swap not scoring for three points any day” he said.

Glory will be searching for its first win in Western Sydney since the Wanderers entered the A-League.

Last time the two sides met was at the end of March, when Glory came from behind to beat the Asian Champions 3-2 with a stunning goal from Bunbury boy Josh Risdon.

Glory is expected to be at full strength with the return of full back Scott Jamieson, dead ball specialist Nebo Marinkovic and midfield dynamo Rostyn Griffiths.

For the home team Tommy Juric and Kerem Bullet will be looking to give their fans a reason to celebrate and back up their win over Adelaide last week.

The match kicks off at 3pm WST.

Hyundai A-League Fact #1
Perth has won both of its previous two meetings with WSW this season

Hyundai A-League Fact #2
Perth is unbeaten in 10 away games (W4 D 6)

Hyundai A-League Fact #3
Perth has scored a league high of 11 headed goals

Hyundai A-League Fact #4
Glory captain Michael Thwaite and star striker Any Keogh will be the only two players to have played every single match for Perth this season


Saturday, 25 April 2015
Western Sydney Wanderers FC v Perth Glory
Pirtek Stadium, Parramatta
Kick-Off: 3:00 PM (WST) (5:00 PM AEST)
Referee: Matthew Conger
Assistant Referee 1: Leigh Pigram
Assistant Referee 2: James Tesoriero
Fourth Official: Steve Lucas

TV Broadcast: Live coverage on FOX SPORTS 505 from 5.00pm (AEST) and Sky Sport 3 (New Zealand)
Radio Broadcast: Online/ABC Radio Mobile phone app.
Join the conversation on Twitter using the hash-tag #WSWvPER

Western Sydney Wanderers FC squad: 1.Ante COVIC (gk), 3.Yusuke TANAKA, 4.Nikolai TOPOR-STANLEY (c), 6.Antony GOLEC, 8.Mateo POLJAK, 9.Tomi JURIC, 10.Yojiro TAKAHAGI, 12.Nikita RUKAVYTSYA, 13.Matthew SPIRANOVIC, 14.Kerem BULUT, 18.Iacopo LA ROCCA, 19.Mark BRIDGE, 20.Dean BOUZANIS (gk), 23.Jason TRIFIRO, 25.Sam GALLAWAY, 33.Nick KALMAR, 37.Jonathan ASPROPOTAMITIS, 38.Steve KUZMANOVSKI

***two to be omitted***

Ins: 4.Nikolai TOPOR-STANLEY (returns from injury), 33.Nick KALMAR (promoted), 18.Iacopo LA ROCCA (promoted)
Outs: 17.Romeo CASTELEN (injured)

Unavailable: 5.Brendan HAMILL (thigh), 7. Labi HALITI (hamstring), 11.Brendon SANTALAB (shoulder), 16.Jaushua SOTIRIO (hamstring), 22.Nick WARD (knee – indefinite), 34.Golgol MEBRAHTU (knee – indefinite)

Perth Glory FC squad: 1.Danny VUKOVIC (gk), 4.Riley WOODCOCK, 5.Rostyn GRIFFITHS, 6.Dino DJULBIC, 9.Andy KEOGH, 10.Nebojsa MARINKOVIC, 11.Richard GARCIA, 13.Diogo FEREIRRA, 14.Chris Harold, 15.Jamie MACLAREN, 18.Jack DUNCAN (gk), 19.Josh RISDON, 20.Daniel DE SILVA, 21.Scott JAMIESON, 23.Michael THWAITE (c), 25.Mitch OXBORROW, 27.Dragan PALJIC, 28.Denis KRAMAR

***two to be omitted***

Ins: 5.Rostyn GRIFFITHS (promoted), 10.Nebojsa MARINKOVIC (promoted), 21.Scott JAMIESON (promoted)

Outs: 31.Jacob COLLARD (not selected)

Unavailable: 7.Youssouf HERSI, 8.Ruben ZADKOVICH (2 weeks)