Grand Final Preview: ‘We have to be as good or better than last week’ – Despotovski


Head Coach Bobby Despotovski believes that his side must match or exceed the performance levels they produced in Sunday’s semi-final if they are to claim a maiden Westfield W-League championship this weekend.


Glory clinched their spot in Saturday’s Grand Final against Sydney FC by downing newly-crowned Premiers Melbourne Victory 4-2 in extra-time at AAMI Park, with Sam Kerr, Shannon May and Leticia McKenna among a string of standout performers.

And according to Despotovski, those heights will need to be scaled again at Netstrata Jubilee Stadium on Saturday if the club’s third Grand Final appearance in five years is ultimately to end in glory.

“We have to be either that good or better to get anything out of this game,”he said.

“They [Sydney FC} are obviously the favourites, but we’ll go there and give it our best shot and if our best shot is good enough, we’ll bring the trophy home.

“Sydney are not as physical as Victory, but in saying that, we need to match them physically, technically and tactically if we are to get something out of the game.

“And we are more than good enough to get something out of the game.”

Glory are reporting a clean bill of health ahead of the trip east, with the squad set for one final training session at Dorrien Gardens on Thursday before flying out early on Friday morning.

Match Details

Westfield W-League 2019 Grand Final 

Saturday, 16 February 2019

Sydney FC v Perth Glory

Venue: Netstrata Jubilee Stadium, Kogarah

Kick-Off: 4:30pm (Local) (1:30pm (WST))

Referee: Kate Jacewicz

Assistant Referee 1: Sarah Ho

Assistant Referee 2: Renee Coghill

Fourth Official: Ellie Hayes

Additional Assistant Referee 1: Casey Reibelt

Additional Assistant Referee 2: Rebecca Durcau

TV Broadcast: Live coverage on FOX SPORTS 505 from 4.00pm (AEDT), SBS VICELAND from 4:00pm (AEDT) and My Football Live App, Live Fast and Data Free for Telstra mobile customers.

Radio Broadcast: myfootballnation.com (6PR & SEN+). ABC News on Radio, Grandstand Digital, Online & via the ABC Listen App – A-League Live.

Join the conversation on Twitter using the hash tag #SYDvPER #WLeagueGF #FeelTheFinals

To purchase tickets visit www.w-league.com.au/tickets

Sydney FC squad: 1.Aubrey BLEDSOE (gk), 2.Teresa POLIAS (c), 3.Shay EVANS, 4.Elizabeth RALSTON, 5.Ally GREEN, 6.Chloe LOGARZO, 7.Rachael SOUTAR, 8.Amy HARRISON, 9.Caitlin FOORD, 10.Savannah McCASKILL, 11.Lisa DE VANNA, 14.Alanna KENNEDY, 17.Angelique HRISTODOULOU., 20.Princess IBINI, 21.Julia VIGNES, 22.Sofia HUERTA, 23.Danielle COLAPRICO, 30.Trudy BURKE (gk),

**two to be omitted**

Ins: 7.Rachael SOUTAR (promoted), 11.Lisa DE VANNA (return from injury)

Outs: Nil

Unavailable: 18.Taylor RAY (knee – indefinite), 19.Amy SAYER (foot – indefinite)

Perth Glory squad: 1.Eliza CAMPBELL (gk), 2.Sarah CARROLL, 3.Kim CARROLL, 4.Alyssa MAUTZ , 5.Shannon MAY, 7.Nicole STANTON, 9.Rachel HILL, 10.Jacynta GALABADAARACHCHI, 11.Leticia McKENNA , 12.Jenna ONIONS, 13.Jamie-Lee GALE, 14.Caitlin DOEGLAS, 15.Alexia MORENO, 17.Liana COOK, 20.Sam KERR (c), 21.Morgan AQUINO (gk), 24.Natasha RIGBY, 25.Katie NAUGHTON

**two to be omitted**

Ins: 10.Jacynta GALABADAARACHCHI (promoted), 17.Liana COOK (promoted)

Outs: Nil

Unavailable: Nil