Under-20s go down in Cup Final shootout

The PGFC Academy Under-20s suffered penalty shootout heartache in Saturday’s NPL WA Top Four Cup Final as they were pipped by Bayswater City having fought out a 2-2 draw over 90 minutes.

In front of a vociferous crowd at Dorrien Gardens, Chris Coyne’s side found themselves trailing 2-0 at the break after the lively Daniel Katz helped himself to a double.

But they roared back at the start of the second half, halving the arrears within three minutes as Joel Anasmo teed up Jaylan Pearman who applied the close-range finish.

And five minutes later it was all-square, Anasmo again providing the assist after a searing run down the left and this time Matthew George clipping the ball into the bottom corner.

When Alex Peitroniro saw red for a foul on Anasmo with 14 minutes left, Glory appeared on course to complete the comeback and add the Top Four Cup to the Championship title which they claimed earlier this month.

But City dug deep to hold them at bay and after Judd Macdougall’s effort was cleared off the line and Joe Hobson was foiled by goalkeeper George Jackson right at the death, penalties were required to find a winner.

Unfortunately for the Academy side, while Hobson and Taiga Matoba converted successfully from the spot, Macdougall and George were unable to do likewise and City’s return of four from four was enough to secure them the silverware.

Match Details

Bayswater City 2 (Katz 8′, 42′) Perth Glory 2 (Pearman 48′, George 53′)

(Bayswater City won 4-2 on penalties)

Half-time: 2-0

Referee: Troy Malatesta

Bayswater City: 1.George JACKSON (GK), 3.Aleksandar KRUSAROSKI, 4.Dean KEZURER (2.Logan RINDEL 63′) (C), 6.Alex MCLEAN, 8.Daniel HARRISON, 9.Shaun MUKWEVHO, 11.Leonard GAMA (7.Raeez PANDOR 50′), 13.Igor CVIJANOVIC, 14.Giordano SPORTIELLO, 16.Alex PETRONIRO, 19.Daniel KATZ

Substitutes not used: 15.Noah KANZI, 20.Jacob FORSYTH, 25.Menaja JANKOVIC

Yellow Cards: Pietroniro, Pandor, Jackson

Red Cards: Pietroniro

PGFC Academy Under-20s: 1.Sam REILLY (GK), 2.Taiga MATOBA, 3.Andriano LEBIB, 4.Judd MACDOUGALL (C), 5.Alexander CHRISTODOULAKIS, 8.Jaylan PEARMAN (7.Daniel ADESINA 86′), 9.Joseph HOBSON, 10.Matthew GEORGE, 11.Joel ANASMO (20.Royie RAHAMIM 81′), 14.Daniel BENNIE, 16.Aiki TSUKAMOTO

Substitutes not used: 12.Casey ROBERTSON (GK), 13.Gert PRINSLOO, 15.Shade STEWART

Yellow Cards: Matoba, Macdougall, Christodoulakis, Pearman

Red Cards: None

(picture courtesy of Tom McCarthy)