Three teams, One Glory


Perth Glory FC is excited and proud to announce that from today it will manage all facets of Perth Glory Women.

For the past seven years, the girls in purple were administered by Football West.

Perth Glory FC inherits a great team which dominated the W-League competition last year, winning the Premier’s Plate.

Players Sam Kerr, Caitlin Foord, Alanna Kennedy and Mackenzie Arnold took their brilliant form for Glory Women to the World Cup in Canada, playing a vital for the Matildas, who reached the quarter finals.

Glory owner and Chairman Tony Sage said it was a fitting time for the Women to join the Glory family.

“This is an exciting and promising day for football across the state,” Sage said.

“It means from today, we have three teams under the one Glory umbrella. The A-League, Youth League and W-League teams will spread the Glory brand and each team will fly the flag for Western Australia on the national front. I’d also like to commend everyone at Football West, including CEO Peter Hugg on a fantastic achievement and their role in boosting the profile of the women’s game.”

Hugg hoped Glory Women would build on the 2014 campaign.

“Last season was the most successful for the Perth Glory Women, who won the Premier’s Plate,” Hugg said. “I hope that achievement can provide the platform for the team to go one step further by winning the Grand Final in the near future.”

Hugg said Football West remained committed to the ongoing growth and development of the women’s game.

“The synergies and economies of scale that can be achieved through the Perth Glory alignment can only be good for the team and women’s football” he said.

“I’d like to thank and commend all those who have been involved in the team over the last seven years of Football West’s management, and who have contributed to establishing Perth Glory Women as one of Australia’s best teams.”

Meantime Perth Glory FC memberships are on sale.

Renew HERE today and get free FFA Cup tickets to every Perth Glory home match.