Taggart strike edges resilient Joondalup


Perth Glory have defeated NPL WA side Joondalup United 1-0 on a frosty night at Percy Doyle Reserve.

Adam Taggart scored the game’s only goal in the 47th minute with a well measured finish. New signings Jake Brimmer and Scott Neville earned valuable game time, while Andreu and Jacob Poscoliero were rested.

Glory dominated the first half despite both teams going scoreless. Taggart threatened on several opportunities from distance, while Joel Chianese proved a threat down the right hand side. Jake Brimmer and Mitch Nichols showed their comfort on the ball in the middle of the park, showing their aptitude as a midfield pairing.

However at the start of the second half, Taggart would open the scoring. A bolting run from Chianese down the right saw the winger cut back for the 2014 FIFA World Cup Socceroo, who made no mistake with his curling shot into the bottom right hand corner.

Joondalup United keeper James Bosdet was in inspired form throughout the second half. The custodian stretched well to deny Taggart one-on-one, before pulling off the save of the night to deny captain Andy Keogh’s powerful strike from distance with a one handed diving save.

All-in-all, the match proved to be another invaluable hit-out for Perth Glory ahead of their Hyundai A-League season opener against Western Sydney Wanderers at Spotless Stadium on October 8.


Match Details

Perth Glory 1 (Taggart 47’)
Joondalup United 0

Glory Starting XI: Liam Reddy (GK), Alex Grant, Marc Warren, Shane Lowry, Mitch Nichols, Joel Chianese, Andy Keogh (C), Jake Brimmer, Daniel Stynes, Adam Taggart, Scott Neville

Subs: Luke Bodnar, Callum Timmins, Brandon Wilson, Ethan Brooks, Liam Murray, Ollie Annis, Bailey Montgomery-Brown, Jesse Daley, Joe Knowles, Michael McDougall, Gomo Dukuly