Subiaco top Glory youngsters


Perth Glory Youth suffered a 2-1 loss against Subiaco AFC in week 3 of the QBE Night Series at Macedonia Park on Friday evening. Cockburn brothers Rory and Carlin Feely were on target for Gerry McEwan’s side either side of Nikola Talimdzioski’s goal.

The Glory youngsters were behind after only three minutes.

Midfielder Kevin White made space on the left and whipped in a perfect cross for Rory Feely to head home past Jordon Thurtell from eight-yards.

Despite going behind the Glory youngster pressed and Talimdzioski saw his header flash inches over the crossbar as they went in search of the equaliser. 

Both sides had chances in an open game but neither could find the target and it was Subiaco going into the sheds with the lead at the break.

But only five minutes into the second half Glory found the equaliser.

Youngster Alex Tanevski played a great ball into the box to Talimdzioski, who ran onto it and finished clinically past Ryan Montgomery.

Five minutes later Glory skipper Jacob Collard’s free kick was superbly saved by Subiaco custodian Montgomery.

The game was up for grabs and Talimdzioski was sent clear again on 70 minutes, but Montgomery stood tall to deny the lively Glory youngster.

But it was Subiaco who scored the winner in the 74th. A shot was deflected into the path of Carlin Feely and despite the last ditch tackle from Henry Durr, the 16-year-old finished past Thurtell to win it.

After the final whistle blew, Glory head coach John Gibson was left to rue the chances squandered by his team.

“In extended patches we played some excellent football and dominated at times – unfortunately we lacked a little quality in the final third tonight and weren’t ruthless enough in front of goals, furthermore we conceded two very soft goals,” he said.

“However there are many positives to take out of the game including creating  good goal scoring opportunities and controlling the tempo.”

“We only look at being better and improving – no excuses. There are plenty of good signs at the moment and we move on to next week against Cockburn City.”

Glory return to the pitch on Sunday February 21 against Cockburn City at Dalmatinac Park. That match will kick-off at 5pm.

Match Details
Friday February 12 2016
Subiaco AFC 2 (R. Feely 3’, C. Feely 74’)
Perth Glory 1 (Talimdzioski 50’)
Venue: Macedonia Park
Referee: Nico Hoyle
Assistants: Josh Mannella and Ammar Timour

Perth Glory: GK Jordon Thurtell, 2 Henry Durr, 3 Jacob Collard, 4 Hayden Stevens, 5 Jackson Morgan, 6 Calvin Whitney, 7 Waliedin Ismail, 8 Sam McKearnan, 9 Hagi Gligor, 10 Nikola Talimdzioski, 11 Alex Tanevski, RGK Joel Driscoll, 12 Daniel Stynes, Thomas Pope, Taban Makoli

Subiaco AFC: GK Ryan Montgomery, 2 Nathan Diaz, 4 Jackson Dongray, 6 Danny  Milne, 7 Rory Feely, 8 Kevin White, 12 Jonas Dorling, 14 Alex Triglavcanin, 15 James Oliver, 18 Eamonn Kelly, 19 David Stokoe, 17 Zac Edwards, 18 Ivwa Simbile, 9 Carlin Feely, 16 Dylan Andrews, 21 Michael Cohen