Stat Attack: Roar v Glory

It’s been a little while since we did a spot of number crunching and archive trawling ahead of a Glory A-League game, so let’s remedy that right here, right now.

Here’s a gift-wrapped selection of seasonal stats, trivia and quirky historical facts to get you in the mood for Saturday’s big clash at Moreton Daily Stadium (kick-off is at 4.45pm WST and you can catch all the action on Paramount +).

On The Record

Glory have won 13 of the 47 A-League meetings with Roar, there have been 11 draws and the Queenslanders have claimed all three points on 23 occasions.

The four most recent clashes between the two clubs have produced an even split of one win apiece and two draws.


Seven Glory players have started each of the club’s four A-League games so far this season – Jonathan Aspropotamitis, Luke Bodnar, Antonee Burke-Gilroy, Jack Clisby, Bruno Fornaroli, Darryl Lachman and Kosuke Ota.

Solid Scott

Scott Neville is poised to make his 45th appearance for Brisbane on Saturday to take his career tally to 243.

104 of those games came during the defender’s two spells with Glory.

Counting Cards

Glory skipper Brandon O’Neill has picked up more yellow cards against Roar (5) than any other A-League club.

The midfielder, however, has never received a red card in the A-League.

Bobby’s Brace

Glory’s first (and second!) ever scorer against Roar was Bobby Despotovski who grabbed a double in a 2-1 home win for the men in purple back in September 2005.

Interestingly, Roar’s goal that day was scored by none other than their current Head Coach, Warren Moon.

Luke Who’s Scoring

Luke Ivanovic is the only Roar player to have scored so far this season.

The former Sydney FC man found the net in his side’s opening-round defeat at the hands of Melbourne City.