Stat Attack: Glory v Sydney FC

There aren’t many things that change more regularly than Glory’s fixtures this season, but the team’s stats are definitely one of them.

So allow us to serve you a cheeky roulade of the latest key numbers and scatter a handful of narrative flakes on top…

Fornaroli’s On Fire

Bruno Fornaroli’s penalty against Adelaide United last weekend took his goal tally for the season to seven which places him third in the A-League Golden Boot race.

Melbourne City’s Jamie Maclaren leads the way with ten, while Newcastle’s Beka Mikeltadze is second on eight.

Tough To Beat The Blues

Although Glory ran out 2-1 winners when the two sides met in late January, the Sky Blues have lost just once in their last ten regular-season A-League visits to HBF Park.

Overall, Sydney have claimed all three points in this fixture on 29 occasions, Glory only 10.

Bobby On The Mark

Glory’s first ever scorer against Sydney FC in the A-League was the legendary Bobby Despotovski who found the net in a 2-1 home defeat in October 2005.

The club’s all-time leading goalscorer put the men in purple in front just before the break, but Sasho Petrovski and Dwight Yorke hit back in the second half to seal victory for the visitors.

Sharp Shooter

Sydney’s veteran striker Bobo is currently leading the league in terms of average shots on target per game with 1.86.

Bruno Fornaroli is Glory’s highest-placed player in this category, currently third with 1.63.

Purple and Sky Blue

A host of players have represented both clubs over the years, including Brandon O’Neill and Aaron Calver who are both expected to feature in Glory’s squad on Saturday.

Other prominent dual representatives include Richard Garcia, Nikolai Topor-Stanley, Scott Jamieson, Liam Reddy, Joel Chianese, Simon Colosimo and Shane Smeltz.

Nuisance Ninkovic

Sydney FC midfielder Milos Ninkovic has been on the losing side just three times in 20 A-League appearances against Glory.

The former Serbian international has scored five times in those games.

It’s A Squad Game

Glory have used 27 players in the A-League so far this season, seven of whom were debutants in the competition.

Sydney FC have used 28 and only one, skipper Alex Wilkinson, has featured in every game.