Squads named for Iron Ore Cup

Perth Glory coach Dave Mitchell and Gold Coast United coach Miron Bleiberg have named their squads for Sunday’s clash at nib Stadium.

Perth Glory coach Dave Mitchell and Gold Coast United coach Miron Bleiberg have named their squads for Sunday-s clash at nib Stadium.

Qantas Socceroo Bruce Djite has been named to make his debut for Gold Coast while Jason Culina has also been included after spending the last week away with the Qantas Soccceroos in Europe, for matches against Switzerland and Poland.

Perth Glory young guns Josh Risdon and Andrija Jukic have been added to the team that beat Wellington 2-1, along with classy defender Josh Mitchell.

Despite having two byes in the first five weeks of the season, Djite says he and his new teammates are ready for the challenge of taking on the league leaders.

“There’s no reason we can’t go there and take all three points,” Djite said.

“All round they’re a very good team and they deserve the position they have on the ladder. It’s going to be a challenge for us with the long trip away in Perth, but we can do it.

“Obviously Robbie Fowler and their performances mean that they should come close to selling out the stadium, but hopefully we can keep the crowd quiet.

“If we can go there and snatch an early goal or a couple goals and keep the crowd quiet that’ll make the game easier for us,” he said.

Perth Glory v Gold Coast United
Sunday, 12 September 2010
nib Stadium, Perth
Local kick-off: 3.00pm (5.00pm AEST)
Matthew Breeze

Live and exclusive broadcast on FOX Sports 1, FS1 HD & on Sky Sports 3. Hyundai A-League club broadcast partner is 882 6PR (Perth). To purchase tickets visit www.ticketmaster.com.au

Perth Glory squad: 1. Tando VELAPHI, 2. Josh MITCHELL, 3. Jamie COYNE, 4. Andy TODD, 5. Jamie HARNWELL, 7. Jacob BURNS (C), 9.Robbie FOWLER, 11. Branko JELIC, 12. Scott NEVILLE, 14. Steven McGARRY, 16. Adriano PELLEGRINO, 17. Todd HOWARTH, 19. Naum SEKULOVSKI, 20. Aleks VRTESKI, 21. Mile STERJOVSKI, 22. Anthony SKORICH, 23. Andrija JUKIC, 24. Josh RISDON
*three to be omitted*

In: Andrija JUKIC, Josh MITCHELL, Josh RISDON (all promoted)
Out: Nil
Unavailable: Michael BAIRD (suspended – 1 week), Victor SIKORA (hip – 3 weeks), Chris COYNE (on loan -10 weeks)

Gold Coast United squad: 1.Glen MOSS [gk], 2.Steve PANTELIDIS, 3.Michael THWAITE, 5.ROBSON, 6.Dino DJULBIC, 7.Zenon CARAVELLA, 8.ANDERSON, 10.Jason CULINA (c), 11.Bruce DJITE, 13.Bas VAN DEN BRINK, 14.Joel PORTER, 15.Tahj MINNIECON, 16.Kristian REES, 18.James BROWN, 19.Andrew BARISIC, 20.Scott HIGGINS [gk], 22.Adama TRAORE, 23.Steve FITZSIMMONS, 24.John CURTIS, 25.Chris BROADFOOT.
*five to be omitted*

In: 11.Bruce DJITE (new signing), 15.Tahj MINNIECON (promoted), 13.Bas VAN DEN BRINK (promoted), 23.Steve FITZSIMMONS (promoted), 25.Chris BROADFOOT (promoted)
Out: 21.Golgol MEBRAHTU (ankle injury – 1 week), 26.Ben HALLORAN (omitted)
Unavailable: Daniel Piorkowski (ankle injury – 4 weeks), Matt Osman (knee injury – indefinite)

Head-to-Head: Played 3: Perth Glory 0 wins 0, Gold Coast United 2 wins (1 draw)