Semi-Final Preview: Perth Glory v Sydney FC


Perth Glory seem warm favourites to reach their maiden Westfield W-League grand final, but Sydney FC have the talent and experience to cause heart-break in the west.

Perth Glory v Sydney FC

Sunday 14 December 2014

nib Stadium, Perth

Local kick-off: 12 midday (3pm AEDT)

Join the conversation on Twitter using match hashtag #PERvSYD

* Catch all the action Live at 3.00pm nationally (midday WA time) on ABC TV. Or from Monday on ABC iView with a full replay at 3.30am on Tuesday.

Two weeks ago Perth Glory inflicted a devastating 5-0 defeat on Sydney FC, easily the worst in the Sky Blue’s history.

But a fortnight can be a long time in football. Since then the Glory crashed to a rare defeat – 2-1 on the road against Canberra United. Sydney FC, meanwhile, showed promising signs in a sometimes erratic 2-2 draw against Newcastle Jets, but will be buoyed by the fact they won through the semi-finals under pressure.

The Glory, too, have lost their talismanic forward Sam Kerr to a knee injury, while Sydney FC inspiration Kyah Simon has returned and played a key in getting to the Sky Blues through to the last-four.

Perth’s Caitlin Foord and Alanna Kennedy will be lining up against their former side, with the former in particular renowned for her game-breaking capability.

Boasting a ton of experience Sydney FC have the big-game know-how, with most of their personnel veterans of their 2013 grand final triumph.

The Glory won 1-0 in an at-times testy encounter two months ago, and this will again be played at high intensity.

This two sides share a rich history, nearly all of it falling in favour of the Sky Blues. The pair have shared more goals against each other than any Westfield W-League match-up.

Only recently Perth topped Sydney’s record for most goals in a single season, set only last year.

There is so much to like about this match-up, and football fans will be well advised to tune into ABC TV for the penultimate contest of the season.

Perth Glory squad: 1. Mackenzie Arnold (gk), 2. Sarah Carroll, 3. Carys Hawkins, 4. Bronwyn Studman, 5. Shannon May, 6. Alanna Kennedy, 7. Gabrielle Marzano, 8. Shawn Billam, 9. Caitlin Foord, 12. Kate Gill, 13. Elisa D’Ovidio, 14. Collette McCallum, 15. Shelina Zadorsky, 16. Thia Eastman, 17. Marianna Tabain, 18. Gabrielle Dal Busco (gk)

Ins: Alanna Kennedy, Caitlin Foord (both promoted)

Outs: Sam Kerr (knee – season)

Unavailable: none

Sydney FC squad: 1. Casey Dumont (gk), 2. Teresa Polias, 3. Liz Ralston, 4. Alesha Clifford, 5. Jasmyne Spencer, 6. Servet Uzunlar, 7. Nicola Bolger, 8. Amy Harrison, 10. Renee Rollason, 11. Natalie Tobin, 12. Chloe Logarzo, 13. Trudy Camilleri, 14. Olivia Price, 15. Teigen Allen, 16. Samantha Johnson, 17. Kyah Simon, 21. Sian McLaren (gk)

Ins: Liz Ralston, Olivia Price (both promoted)


Unavailable:  none

To stay up to date with the latest news and highlights, sign up to the Westfield W-League Extra here