Selection headache for HARNWELL


Westfield W-League leaders Perth Glory will welcome third-placed Western Sydney Wanderers to Inglewood’s Intiga Stadium for Saturday afternoon’s crunch game at 4pm.

The Wanderers are the only team to have defeated the Glory in season 2012/13, with a 2-0 victory back in Round 3.

It-s now time for revenge and coach Jamie Harnwell-s biggest problem will be selecting his starting 11, with Westfield Matildas Lisa De Vanna, Kate Gill and captain Collette McCallum all returning from international duty.

“I was really pleased with how the girls went about things last time out against Sydney FC,” said Harnwell.

“With the three Matildas out, everybody stepped up to the plate, especially Rosie (Sutton) scoring the hat-trick.

“It-s been a solid week on the training track and all of our focus is trying to get the three points this weekend. It-s going to be very difficult for me to pick the team for Saturday, that-s for sure.

“Our approach wasn-t good enough when we travelled to Western Sydney, so hopefully we can put things right with a win as we-ve got a tough period coming up with the next three games away.”

This weekend will also be the inaugural W-League ‘Silver Round- in support the Ovarian Cancer Research Foundation, Australia-s pre-eminent body supporting ovarian cancer research.

All players will be wearing silver shoelaces to show their commitment to fighting ovarian cancer, and supporting the thousands of Australian women and their families who are affected by this insidious disease.

One Australian woman dies every ten hours from ovarian cancer, which has a mortality rate that is proportionally higher than breast cancer, because there is currently no early detection method.

Football fans will be able to make a donation, or purchase their own silver shoelaces and silver pins to help fund research for early detection and help save lives.

Perth Glory Women v Western Sydney Wanderers Women
Saturday 1 December, 2012
Intiga Stadium, Inglewood
Kick-off: 4.00pm

Adults: $10
Concession: $5
12 and Under: Free
Perth Glory A-League members: Free

Perth Glory: 1. Carly TELFORD (gk), 2. Sarah CARROLL, 3. Carys HAWKINS, 4. Bronwyn STUDMAN, 5. Shannon MAY, 6. Sasha ANDREWS, 7. Aivi LUIK, 8. Ella MASTRANTONIO, 9. Rosie SUTTON, 10. Jaymee GIBBONS, 11. Lisa DE VANNA, 12. Kate GILL, 13. Elisa D-OVIDIO, 14. Collette McCALLUM (c), 15. Liz MILNE, 16. Thia EASTMAN, 17. Marianna TABAIN, 18. Kirri BOLTON, 19. Shawn BILLAM, 20. Zoe PALANDRI (gk)
Five to be omitted

Ins: 11. Lisa DE VANNA, 12. Kate GILL, 14. Collette McCALLUM (all return from international duty), 16. Thia EASTMAN (promoted), 18. Kirri BOLTON (promoted), 19. Shawn BILLAM (promoted).

Outs: None.

Unavailable: None.