Roar hype reaches fever pitch


The hype surrounding Saturday’s clash between Perth Glory and Brisbane Roar has reached fever pitch with an Australian record at stake.

The hype surrounding Saturday-s clash between Perth Glory and Brisbane Roar has reached fever pitch with an Australian record at stake.

Brisbane, first on the Hyundai A-league table are chasing their 36th consecutive match undefeated, a new Australian all-football record.

“I personally felt more pressure last week against Newcastle because it was a very difficult game going away from home,” Brisbane midfielder Erik Paartalu said.

“Circumstances went against us at half-time, 1-0 down and captain Matt Smith had to come off and there were a few things thrown at us.

“We reacted really, really strongly and I was very, very proud of that performance last week.

“It was great character shown by the boys and definitely I don-t feel any pressure this week compared to last week.”

The match at Suncorp Stadium will also see goal scorers Shane Smeltz and Besart Berisha (pictured above) go head-to-head for the first time.

Berisha, an Albanian international has been a hit in his first season in Australia, scoring 7 goals in 7 games.

Smeltz, the competition-s second highest scorer of all-time has also begun the season in white-hot form.

With a crowd of more than 20,000 expected on Saturday, the build-up will continue tomorrow (Friday) when the two coaches and captains come together for a pre-match media conference.

Brisbane Roar vs. Perth Glory
Saturday, 26 November 2011
Venue: Suncorp Stadium
4:45pm (Perth time)

Referee: Jarred Gillett / Assistant Ref 1: Alex Glasgow / Assistant Ref 2: Nathan McDonald / 4th Official: Adam Kersey

TV Broadcast: Fox Sports 1

Head-to-Head: All matches (played 18): Brisbane Roar wins 11, Perth Glory wins 3 (4 draws)

Brisbane Roar squad: 1. Michael Theoklitos (gk), 2. Matt Smith (c), 3. Shane Stefanutto, 5. Ivan Franjic, 6. Erik Paaratlu, 7. Besart Berisha, 8. Massimo Murdocca, 10. Henrique, 11. Issey Nakajima-Farran, 16. Mohamed Adnan, 18. Luke Brattan, 19. Jack Hingert, 21. James Meyer, 22. Thomas Broich, 30. Matt Acton (gk).

Unavailable: 9. Kofi Danning (International duty), 4. Matt Jurman (International duty), 17. Mitch Nichols (International duty), 20 Andrew Redmayne (abdominal injury – 3 weeks)

Perth Glory squad: 1.Danny VUKOVIC (gk), 2.Josh MITCHELL, 3.Bas van den BRINK, 4.Billy MEHMET, 6.Chris COYNE, 7.Jacob BURNS (c), 8.Adam HUGHES, 9.Shane SMELTZ, 14.Steven McGARRY, 15.Tommy AMPHLETT, 17.Todd HOWARTH, 18. Jesse MAKAROUNAS, 19.Josh RISDON, 25. Trent McCLENAHAN, 27.ANDREZINHO, 30. Lewis ITALIANO (gk)
*one to be omitted*

In: 15.Tommy AMPHLETT, 18.Jesse MAKAROUNAS, 25.Trent McCLENAHAN (all promoted)

Out: 10.Liam MILLER (suspended – 1 week), 21.Mile STERJOVSKI (wife giving birth)

Unavailable: 5.Steve PANTELIDIS (Achilles), 10.Liam MILLER (suspended – 1 week), 11.Victor SIKORA (hip – long term injury list), 12.Scott NEVILLE (knee), 13.Travis DODD (hamstring- 3 weeks),16.Evan BERGER (hamstring – 6-weeks), 20.Neil YOUNG (abdominal), 21.Mile STERJOVSKI (wife giving birth)