Roar emotion fuels Glory


Perth Glory FC will be looking to extend its best start to a Hyundai A-League season and claim its fifth win in a row, when it clashes against Champions Brisbane Roar at Suncorp Stadium on Saturday.

Table topping Glory has claimed 18 points from its first seven games, but this weekend – the first of a double header road trip-will present a different challenge.

Perth has only won two games from 13 in Brisbane and faces a different Roar, after Coach Mike Mulvey was sacked and replaced by Frans Thijssen earlier this week.

However star striker Andy Keogh, who has booted five league goals in seven matches, says Glory, is focusing on its own strengths.

“It’s good spirits in the camp and it’s all down to hard work and we’re playing well” he said.

“We just got to keep on doing what we’re doing and believing in our tactics and in our ability and go there and play our normal game”.

Perth beat Brisbane in Round two at nib Stadium which also laid the backdrop to Keogh’s stunning hat-trick. But the 28-year old Irishman says the team can’t rest on its laurels.

“When they came to us, the first half they played really well, you might say they’ve been playing really well but haven’t been finishing off their chances but we know what to expect from them, they’re a good ball playing side they keep it well” Keogh added.

While Perth has been led in attack by Keogh, Glory’s defence has been consistent, specifically with full backs Scott Jamieson and Josh Risdon.

The pair has maintained a tackling success rate of above 90% while both have been potent in attack with Risdon claiming two assists and Jamieson an assist and a stunning 30 metre free kick so far this season.

Glory coach Kenny Lowe looks set to have a full squad to choose from for this Saturday’s match, except for the suspended Ruben Zadkovich who will be available for next Thursday’s match against Sydney FC.

Super-sub Jamie Maclaren could return to the match day squad having sat out in the win over Wellington Phoenix.

Meanwhile Brisbane has endured the worst start to a season in its club history, claiming just three points in six league games.

Despite Brisbane struggling for results, one man who has not struggled to find the back of the net is Henrique (4) who currently sits in third place in the Golden Boot standings behind Besart Berisha (5) and our very own Andy Keogh (5).

Kick-off is at 2pm (WST) on Saturday.

Hyundai A-League Fact 1

Perth have won four A-League matches in a row for the first time in history.

Hyundai A-League Fact 2

Perth has a 100% winning record when they open the scoring.

Hyundai A-League Fact 3

Perth has scored more than 40-percent of its goals in the lat 15 minutes.

Hyundai A-League Fact 4

Brisbane have won four of their last five home games against Perth, losing the other.

Hyundai A-League Fact 5

In their last 20 A-League games, Brisbane have kept just three clean sheets.

Match Details

Saturday, 29 November 2014

Brisbane Roar FC v Perth Glory

Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane

Kick-Off: 4:00 PM (Local) (5:00 PM AEDT)

Referee: Strebre Delovski

Assistant Referee 1: Nathan MacDonald

Assistant Referee 2: Anton Shchetinin

Fourth Official: Alex King


TV Broadcast: Live and exclusive coverage on FOX SPORTS 505 from 4.30pm (AEDT) and Sky Sport 2 (New Zealand)

Radio Broadcast: 612 ABC Brisbane, Local Radio Queensland, 720 ABC Perth, Local Radio WA, Grandstand Digital, Grandstand Online/ ABC Radio Mobile phone app 

Join the conversation on Twitter using the hash-tag #BRIvPER


Perth Glory squad: 1.Danny VUKOVIC (gk), 3.Brandon ONEIL, 5.Rostyn GRIFFITHS, 6.Dino DJULBIC, 7.Youssouf HERSI, 9.Andy KEOGH, 10.Nebosja MARINKOVIC, 11.Richard GARCIA, 13.Diogo Alves FERREIRA, 14.Chris HAROLD, 15.Jamie MACLAREN, 16.Sidnei SCIOLA, 17.Mitch NICHOLS, 18.Jack DUNCAN.19.Joshua RISDON, 20.Daniel DE SILVA, 21.Scott JAMIESON, 23.Michael THWAITE (c)

**two to be omitted**

Ins: 3.Brandon ONEIL (promoted), 15.Jamie MACLAREN (promoted), 16.Sidnei SCIOLA (return from injury)

Outs: 8 Ruben ZADKOVICH (suspended– 1 week)

Unavailable: Nil

Brisbane Roar FC squad: 2.Matthew SMITH (c), 5.Corey BROWN, 7.Mensur KURTISHI, 8.Steven LUSTICA, 10.HENRIQUE, 13.Jade NORTH, 14.Daniel BOWLES, 15.James DONACHIE, 17.Matt McKAY, 18.Luke BRATTAN, 21.Jamie YOUNG (gk), 22.Thomas BROICH, 23.Dimitri PETRATOS, 28.Brandon BORRELLO, 30.Matthew ACTON (gk), 34.Shannon BRADY

Ins: 5.Corey BROWN (promoted)

Outs: 3.Shane STEFANUTTO (groin – 6 weeks)

Unavailable: 1.Michael THEO (wrist – 4 weeks), 4.Adam SAROTA (knee – 1 week), 6.George LAMBADARIDIS (knee – 2 weeks), 12.Jean Carlos SOLORZANO (shoulder – 1 week)