Roar claim the spoils at Suncorp

Aleks Susnjar’s first Glory goal came too late to prevent Alen Stajcic’s side from slipping to a 2-1 defeat at the hands of Brisbane Roar in Sunday’s Isuzu UTE A-League Round 5 clash at Suncorp Stadium.

View full match highlights HERE.

After Cameron Cook had made several fine saves to keep the hosts out in the first half, former Glory man Henry Hore found the net from a tight angle with 56 minutes on the clock and Jay O’Shea swiftly doubled his side’s lead via a deflected effort.

Susnjar then headed into an empty net deep into stoppage-time after a free-kick from substitute Aaron McEneff had cannoned back out off the bar, but the visitors were beaten by the clock in their bid to continue their late comeback.

View Alen Stajcic’s post-match media conference HERE.

On a warm afternoon in the Queensland capital, it was Roar who made the faster start, with Cook forced to make an outstanding save to foil Florin Berenguer inside the opening two minutes.

And although Taggart did test Freke with a snap-shot midway through the half, the home side finished the opening period as they had started it, this time Nikola Mileusnic drawing an excellent block from the impressive Cook.

11 minutes after the restart, Roar did find a way past the in-form Glory ‘keeper, O’Shea winning possession on the edge of the box and teeing up Hore who drilled a low shot into the far corner.

To their credit, the men in white almost hit back immediately, Colakovski seeing his effort well saved by Freke before Jarrod Carluccio found the side-netting with a strike from outside the box.

1-0 became 2-0 midway through the half, however, courtesy of O’Shea’s slightly fortuitous strike, leaving Glory with a mountain to climb.

But they refused to fold and although it ultimately came too late, Susnjar’s header right at the death at least provided some reward for their efforts.

Match Details

Isuzu UTE A-League Season 2023/24 Round 5

Brisbane Roar 2 (Hore 56′, O’Shea 65′) Perth Glory
1 (Susnjar 90+3′)

Half-time: 0-0

Suncorp Stadium

Sunday 26 November 2023

Referee: Ben Abraham

Brisbane Roar: 1. Macklin FREKE (GK), 2. Scott NEVILLE, 3. Corey BROWN (21. Antonee BURKE-GILROY 13′), 5. Thomas ALDRED (C), 7. Florin BERENGUER (22. Alex PARSONS 83′), 10. Nikola MILEUSNIC (30. Quinn MACNICOL 84′), 12. Taras GOMULKA, 13. Henry HORE (14. Rylan BROWNLIE 80′), 16. Thomas WADDINGHAM, 26. Jay O’SHEA, 35. Louis ZABALA (19. Jack HINGERT 80′)

Substitutes not used: 27. Kai TREWOM, 29. Matt ACTON (GK)

Yellow Cards: O’Shea

Red Cards: None

Perth Glory: 13.Cameron COOK (gk), 2.Johnny KOUTROUMBIS (19.Trent OSTLER 63′), 5.Mark BEEVERS (co-c), 10.Salim KHELIFI (7.Stefan COLAKOVSKI 55′), 15.Aleksandar SUSNJAR, 17.Jarrod CARLUCCIO, 20.Giordano COLLI, 22.Adam TAGGART (co-c) (12.Luke IVANOVIC 63′), 23.Daniel BENNIE, 24.Oliver BOZANIC (6.Aaron MCENEFF 85′), 29.Darryl LACHMAN

Substitutes not used: 1.Oli SAIL (gk), 27.Jayden GORMAN, 28.Kaelan MAJEKODUNMI

Yellow Cards: Colakovski, Ostler

Red Cards: None