Perth Glory will look to end a six game run without a win, when they take on Hyundai A-League leaders Brisbane Roar in the ‘Erase Racism Round’ game, at the Suncorp Stadium on Friday evening 5pm (WST)

Perth Glory will look to end a six game run without a win, when they take on Hyundai A-League leaders Brisbane Roar in the ‘Erase Racism Round- game, at the Suncorp Stadium on Friday evening 5pm (WST)

Brisbane have lost back-to-back games, and will be desperate for the three points, to keep the Western Sydney Wanderers at bay for the Premiers Plate, so both sides go into the match knowing a win is vital.

It will be a return to the scene of the crime, where the Roar won the 2012 A-League Grand Final against the Glory, with that certain late penalty. But that is the furthest thing on the minds of the present Glory side, which will look to bounce back, from a disappointing home defeat against the Wanderers last week.

Interim Coach Kenny Lowe still believes a spot in the finals is up for grabs, but they need to lift their performance from last week. “First half, no one turned up. Second half, it was a brand new set of people that turned up, so it was chalk and cheese,” Lowe said.

“I-m disappointed, they-re disappointed too, but you roll onto the next day and dust yourself down and get on with it. There are still seven games left, so there are plenty of points to play for.”

They head into the game without influential central defender Michael Thwaite, who is suspended after picking up his fifth yellow card last week, while in other team news Riley Woodcock has been omitted, and Adrian Zahra is out with an ankle injury.

Brandon O’Neill looks likely to come in to partner William Gallas at the centre of defence, with fellow youngster,Jack Clisby, pushing hard for the starting left back position.

The back four will have their work cut out with the Roar’s forward line of Henrique, Thomas Broich and Besart Berisha. The Albanian striker has been out of sorts in the last month since his move to Melbourne Victory next season was announced, but he is still a threat in and around the box, and it was his goal that gave the Roar a 1-0 win, in round 8 this season.

Young midfielder Danny De Silva impressed off the bench last week and will be pushing for a spot in the starting line-up, but he will have competition from club captain, Jacob Burns, who has started on the bench for the past two games, Steven McGarry and Nebojsa Marinkovic. They will come up against a familiar face with former Glory midfielder Liam Miller in the Roar line up; he joins Socceroos Matt Mckay and Ivan Franjac in a talented engine room.

Striker Shane Smeltz has struggled since his return from injury, but the New Zealand international is still the key in the forward line. He may be joined this week by Australian under-20 international Jamie Maclaren, who bagged a hat-trick last week, in the Foxtel NYL team-s impressive 4-1 win against Western Sydney Wanderers, or Darvydas Sernas and Chris Harold, who will all battle it out for a starting berth, as the Glory look for a much needed three points.

Friday, 28 February 2014

Brisbane Roar v Perth Glory
Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
Kick-off: 5:00pm (WST)
Referee: Ben Williams
Assistant Referee 1: Matthew Cream
Assistant Referee 2: Hakan Anaz
Fourth Official: Matthew Gillett

TV broadcast: 5:0pm (WST) Live coverage on FOX Sports 1HD, SBS2 and on Sky Sport 2 (New Zealand).

Live Match Stream: FFA will be streaming live coverage of the fixture in the official Match Centre. Available (AUS & NZ only) to view here: http://www.footballaustralia.com.au/aleague/matchcentre/Brisbane-Roar-v-Perth-Glory-Hyundai-A-League/3185

Radio Broadcast: 612 ABC Brisbane, ABC Local Radio QLD, 720 ABC Perth, ABC Local Radio WA, Grandstand Digital, Online/Mobile phone app. SBS Radio.

Join the conversation on Twitter using the hash-tag #BRIvPER #EraseRacism

To purchase tickets visit www.aleague.com.au/tickets

Brisbane Roar squad: 1.Michael THEO (GK), 2.Matthew SMITH (c), 3.Shane STEFANUTTO, 5. Ivan FRANJIC, 7.Besart BERISHA, 8.Steven LUSTICA, 10.HENRIQUE, 11.Liam MILLER, 13.Jade NORTH, 15.James DONACHIE, 16.Jean Carlos SOLORZANO, 17.Matt McKAY, 18.Luke BRATTAN, 20.Matthew ACTON (GK), 22.Thomas BROICH, 23.Dimitri PETRATOS

Ins: Nil

Outs: Nil

Unavailable: 25.George LAMBADARDIS (knee – season)

Perth Glory squad: 1.Daniel VUKOVIC (GK), 2.Jack CLISBY, 3.Brandon O-NEILL, 5.Rostyn GRIFFITHS, 7.Jacob BURNS (c), 8.Nebojsa MARINKOVIC, 9.Shane SMELTZ, 10.Jamie MACLAREN, 14.Steven McGARRY, 16.Sidnei SCIOLA MORAES, 17.Chris HAROLD, 18.Jack DUNCAN (GK), 19.Josh RISDON, 20.Daniel DE SILVA, 28.Darvydas SERNAS, 36.William GALLAS

In: 3.Brandon O-NEILL (promoted) , 10.Jamie MACLAREN (promoted)

Out: Michael THWAITE (suspension – 1 match), 25.Riley WOODCOCK (omitted)

Unavailable: Travis DODD (knee – indefinite), Scott JAMIESON (Achilles – indefinite)