Retro Corner – Our Most Glorious Kiwi?


With an away game at Wellington Phoenix next on the agenda for Tony Popovic’s men, we thought it was the perfect time to inject a bit of Kiwi flavour into Retro Corner.

A number of players from across the Tasman have, of course, featured for Glory over the years.

In more recent times, Shane Smeltz and Leo Bertos are two that spring to mind, along with Adrian Webster and Jeremy Christie.

But head a little further back and you will come across not one, but two Most Glorious Player Award-winners who hailed from the land that sunshine forgot, in the form of Gavin Wilkinson and Danny Hay.

The former took out the inaugural MGP Award in 1996 and his compatriot then went back-to-back in 1998 and 1999, sharing the latter award with Scott Miller.

The pair both represented Glory more than 50 times, with Hay returning for a second spell at the club when the Hyundai A-League started up in 2006, while at international level, they won a combined total of 64 senior caps for the All Whites.

Both men eventually went into coaching after hanging up their boots and Wilkinson continues to play a prominent role in the game as General Manager at leading MLS club, Portland Timbers.

As always, however, we’re looking to go beyond the bare facts about these two popular players of yesteryear.

We’d love you to share your memories of them, so join the conversation via our Facebook page HERE or on Twitter HERE.