New Westfield W-League squad taking shape


Perth Glory’s squad for the Westfield W-League 2019/20 Season is taking shape, with 11 players today confirmed as having signed up to wear the famous purple this year.

The core of the squad that reached last season’s Grand Final has been retained, including some of the country’s brightest young prospects such as Leticia McKenna and Lexie Moreno.

Leticia McKenna solo

Matildas goalkeeper Eliza Campbell, who enjoyed a stellar debut campaign for Glory last year, is back on board, as is the club’s record Westfield W-League appearances-holder, Shannon May.

Eliza Campbell throws the ball

Young Matildas”keeper Morgan Aquino will provide competition for Campbell, while long-serving defensive duo Kim Carroll and Sarah Carroll also return, the latter having topped the WA Women’s Premier League scoring charts with Northern Redbacks earlier this year.

Sarah Carroll v Canberra

Last season’s starting full-backs, Natasha Rigby and Jamie-Lee Gale, are set to feature once more, as are highly-rated Albany youngster Jenna Onions and versatile attacker, Caitlin Doeglas.

Jamie-Lee Gale v Victory

Head Coach Bobby Despotovski is delighted with the way the squad is shaping up and looking forward to seeing how its large contingent of young local players  develop.

“We are going with a slightly different squad this year,” he said.

“There is a lot of local talent on show and the reason behind that is our determination to give local WA players an opportunity to play at Westfield W-League level.

“Obviously they have to be good enough and I believe that this blend of players that we have chosen this year and in particular the young players, are definitely good enough.

“They need that chance to play and show their talent and that’s what we’re going to give them.

“In terms of our target for the season, it is always to finish in the top four and then try and win it from there.

“We’re not going to deviate from that.”

The confirmed squad list is as follows:

Morgan Aquino, Eliza Campbell, Kim Carroll, Sarah Carroll, Caitlin Doeglas, Jamie-Lee Gale, Shannon May, Lexie Moreno, Leticia McKenna, Jenna Onions, Natasha Rigby.

Further signings, including a number of players from overseas, will be confirmed shortly.

The squad began pre-season training earlier this week ahead of their opening game of the 2019/20 season which is away at Canberra on Sunday 17 November.

To grab your bargain Glory Westfield W-League membership, click HERE and for the full 2019/20 fixture list, click HERE.