Neville named in Australian U-23 squad

Perth Glory defender Scott Neville has been named in the Australian National under-23 team for a tour to Vietnam.

Perth Glory defender Scott Neville has been named in the Australian National under-23 team for a tour to Vietnam.

The 20-player squad will assemble in Sydney on Wednesday 15 September for a two day training camp before departing for Vietnam on Friday 17 September where they will play matches against the Under 23 National teams of DPR Korea & Kuwait and also the Vietnam National team.

Neville will miss the Glory-s next two away games against Newcastle and Adelaide.

“I-m delighted to be named in my first Australian squad,” the 21-year old said.

“Obviously it-s disappointing to miss two vital games with the club but the chance to represent Australia is a goal I-ve wanted to achieve.

“I-m extremely thankful to Dave Mitchell, my team mates and Perth Glory for the opportunities I-ve been given with the senior team.”

On the eve of his first training camp with his new group of players, Qantas Olyroo head coach Aurelio Vidmar is excited about the upcoming campaign to qualify for the 2012 London Olympic games.

“This is our first opportunity to get this particular group of players together,” said Vidmar

“There is still a long way to go before our first official qualifier next June, but camps like these are an important part of the preparation process.

“The majority of the squad that will take us through the qualifiers will be Hyundai A-League based players, so we will need to work hard to ensure that the squad is the strongest one possible for the campaign,” concluded Vidmar.

The match schedule for the Qantas Olyroos to qualify for 2012 London Olympic Games was recently announced by the Asian Football Confederation (AFC) and will involve thirty-five teams from the region that will compete for three-and-a-half positions in the Men-s Olympics football tournament.

Round One of qualification will see the twenty-two lowest ranked teams in Asia play home-and-away playoffs with the winners qualifying for Round Two. The first leg of Round One will be played on 23 February, 2011, while the return leg will be played on 9 March, 2011.

The Round One winners will join the 13 highest ranked teams, which will include Australia, in Round Two and 12 teams will make it to the Round Three after playing home-and-away playoffs on 19 June, 2011, and 23 June, 2011.

Round Three will see the teams divided into three groups of four teams which will play each other in a home-and-away format. The winners of each group will qualify for the 2012 London Olympics. All the second-placed teams from the three groups will play-off in a round robin format and the winner will then take on the Confederation of African Football (CAF) representative for a place at the 2012 Olympic Games.

The third round matches will be played on September 21, 2011, November 23, November 27, February 5, 2012, February 22 and March 14. The round robin matches between the second-placed teams will be played at a centralised venue from March 25 to 29, 2012.

The squad is:

Luke BRATTAN (Roar), Oliver BOZANIC (Mariners), James BROWN (Gold Coast), Isaka CERNAK (Fury), Luke DeVERE (Roar), Mate DUGANDZIC (Victory), Diogo FERRIERA (Victory), Antony GOLEC (Sydney FC), Marko JESIC (Jets), Jason HOFFMAN (Heart), Matthew JURMAN (Sydney FC), Tahj MINNIECON (Gold Coast), Daniel MULLEN (Adelaide), Mitch NICHOLS (Roar), Scott NEVILLE (Glory), Chris PAYNE (Fury), Mirjan PAVLOVIC (Phoenix), Andrew REDMAYNE (Roar), Sebastian RYALL (Sydney FC), Jerrad TYSON (Gold Coast)

Date of Birth: 11 January 1989 (Age 21)
Born: Devon, England
Junior Club: Sorrento
Representative honours: WA State under 13,14, 16

Perth Glory: 35 games (3 goals)
2008/09 4 games (elevated from youth team squad)
2009/10 25 games (2 goals)
2010/11 6 games (1 goal v Fury, week 1)