Mitchell wary of ‘dangerous’ Newcastle

Perth Glory Dave Mitchell feels this Saturday’s opponents the Newcastle Jets are a ‘dangerous’ side that have gone under the radar.

Perth Glory Dave Mitchell feels this Saturday-s opponents the Newcastle Jets are a ‘dangerous- side that have gone under the radar.

While all the pre-season hype has focused on Melbourne Victory, Sydney FC and Melbourne Heart, Mitchell says the Jets are a very good side.

“I think Branko has made some good signings this year, they-ve got a lot energy in wide areas and a lot of experience as well.

“They-ve got Ljubo who is a fantastic player, Michael Bridges and quality all over the park so they are a dangerous side and one we have to be very wary of,” Mitchell said.

The Jets squad features three former Glory players, Nikolai Topor-Stanley, Ljubo Milicevic and Kasey Wehrman.

While Top-Stanley won the Glory-s highest individual honour, the MGP in 2008, Milicevic and Wehrman played for the club back in 2000 when Perth lost that dramatic NSL Grand final to Wollongong on penalties.

“Life is too short for minor details,” Milicevic said.

Like the Glory, Newcastle enters Week 3 of the Hyundai A-League 2010/11 season undefeated having drawn their two games against Adelaide and Melbourne Heart.

Another big crowd is expected at nib Stadium (formerly ME Bank Stadium) as the Glory aims to stay on top of the Hyundai A-League ladder.

“We played well at home last time despite the late equaliser so hopefully that doesn-t happen this week and we can get on top of Newcastle and come away with the points,” Mitchell said.

Saturday, 21 August 2010
Perth Glory v Newcastle Jets
nib Stadium (formerly ME Bank stadium), Perth
Local kick-off: 3.15pm (5.15pm AEST)
Matthew Breeze

Live and exclusive broadcast on FOX Sports. 3, FS3 HD. Hyundai A-League club broadcast partner is 882 6PR (Perth) and 1233 ABC Newcastle. To purchase tickets visit www.ticketmaster.com.au

Perth Glory squad: 1. Tando VELAPHI, 2. Josh MITCHELL, 3. Jamie COYNE, 5. Jamie HARNWELL, 7. Jacob BURNS (C), 9.Robbie FOWLER, 10. Michael BAIRD, 11. Branko JELIC, 12. Scott NEVILLE, 14. Steven McGARRY, 15. Howard FONDYKE 16. Adriano PELLEGRINO, 17. Todd HOWARTH, 19. Naum SEKULOVSKI, 20. Aleks VRTESKI, 21. Mile STERJOVSKI, 22. Anthony SKORICH, 23. ANDRIJA JUKIC
*three to be omitted*

In: Josh MITCHELL (Universitatea Craiova), Michael BAIRD (Universitatea Craiova) – subject to provisional registration, ANDRIJA JUKIC (promoted)
Out: Nil
Unavailable: Andy TODD (knee- 2 weeks), Victor SIKORA (hip-6 weeks), Chris COYNE (On loan – 8 weeks)

Newcastle Jets squad: 1. Ben KENNEDY (gk), 2. Taylor REGAN, 3. Adam D-APUZZO, 5. Ljubo MILICEVIC 6. Ben KANTAROVSKI 7. Kasey WEHRMAN 8. Michael BRIDGES (c), 10. Ruben ZADKOVICH, 11. Tarek ELRICH, 12. Jobe WHEELHOUSE, 14. Labinot HALITI, 16. Jeremy BROCKIE, 18. Marko JESIC, 19. Ali ABASS, 30. Paul HENDERSON

In: 2. Taylor REGAN (promoted)
Out: 4. Nikolai TOPOR STANLEY (hamstring)
Unavailable: 22. Kaz PATAFTA (hamstring), 20. Neil YOUNG (illness – indefinite), 9. Zhang SHOU (not Selected), 17. Marcello FIORENTINI (not selected), 15. Sean ROONEY (calf – 4 weeks), 13. Sash PETROVSKI (not selected)

Head-to-Head: All matches (played 15): Perth Glory wins 8, Newcastle Jets wins 3 (4 draws)