Meet Glory’s Magnificent Seven


Seven former Perth Glory players will be among the 32 people who will be inducted into the Football Hall of Fame WA at the 20th anniversary gala dinner/induction night at Crown Perth on Saturday, November 26.

The Glory players include centre-half Jamie Harnwell, who is the club’s appearance record holder with 256 games, and midfielder Tony Carbone, who is a history-maker in global terms.

Carbone, who played 33 times for the Glory and also had a spell in England with Nottingham Forest, made world football history when he scored the first Golden Goal while playing for Australia against Uruguay in the World Youth Cup in Sydney in 1993.

The other former Glory players who will be honoured are winger Paul Strudwick, midfielder Paul McVittie, defender Chris Coyne, now a successful coach with Bayswater City, goalkeeper Andy Petterson (currently the Glory Women’s goalkeeping coach) who was the first WA-born player to compete in the English Premier League (with Ipswich), and double-winning keeper Jason Petkovic.

Petkovic won two National Soccer League titles with the Glory, while his brother Michael, who won two NSL crowns while playing with South Melbourne but never featured with the Glory, will also be inducted into the Hall of Champions.

The Champions inductees will be given their plaques by former Perth Glory coach Bernd Stange, who will be a special guest speaker at the function.

Former SBS football broadcasting icon Les Murray will also be a guest speaker and he will present a posthumous award to the parents of Dylan Tombides, the budding West Ham superstar who tragically died from testicular cancer at the age of 20 in 2014. He will be inducted into the Hall of Merit for Players and will be the youngest male to be posthumously honoured.

There is also a Glory link in the Hall of Recognition, which honours coaches, referees and administrators. Mickey Brennan, who was assistant coach to Gary Marocchi in Glory’s first two years, will be inducted in this category.

The 32 new inductees include four women and four from rural regions. This will be the sixth induction ceremony of an event that was the first of its kind in Australian football when it was established in 1996.

Apart from Stange and Murray, many other footballing celebrities will attend the event, including Socceroos goalkeeper coach Tony Franken, former Socceroos players Gary Marocchi, Robbie Zabica and Dave Todd, who is making the journey from England for the function, and ex-England international John Sydenham.

The full list of inductees:

HALL OF CHAMPIONS: Tony Carbone, Chris Coyne, Jamie Harnwell, Paul McVittie, Jason Petkovic, Michael Petkovic, Andy Petterson, Paul Strudwick.

HALL OF MERIT FOR PLAYERS: Alan Armstrong, Steve Bourne, Tommy Carruthers, Alex Cummings, Keven Elliott, John Hunter, Peter Johnson, Willie Kelly, Robert Lee, Bruno Marocchi, Michele Matthews, Dylan Tombides, Aldo Trinca

HALL OF RECOGNITION: Mickey Brennan, Bob Brown, John Davies, Debbie Farrell, Steve Hawkins, Helen Lumley, Steve Muldoon, Angelo Nardi, Janette Spencer, Mike Tetlow