Perth Glory will be aiming to extend its unbeaten run against Melbourne Victory to eight games this weekend, when the West Australians host the mighty big V at nib Stadium on Saturday night.

Last time Glory hosted Melbourne, Perth won 3-2 in a thrilling match which saw Andy Keogh score his first goal after re-signing with the club, while the polarising Besart Berisha scored a brace.

Glory is undefeated in its last seven games against the Victory but Kenny Lowe is aware that it all means very little come Saturday.

“I’m not one to look in the past but that’s a fact but also it probably drives them to want to put a stop to that,” said the boss.

“But you know we’re looking to kick on and get three points and consolidate where we are and build on the positive performances we’ve had in the last five weeks.”

Lowe understands that the clash against Melbourne is crucial to Perth’s chances of keeping the momentum going and solidifying a spot in the top six.

“I think any performance is key you know kicking on we’ve gone away from home and had some good performances and got some decent results.”

“You know we need to, hopefully, win on the weekend and kick-on. It comes to the time of the year where we seem to do ok, touch wood. We kicked on last year, there’s no reason why we can’t this year.”

With Captain Rostyn Griffiths out suspended and centre-back Alex Grant set to spend some time on the sidelines, Lowe will be forced to make changes to the side.

The coach has named Rhys and Aryn Williams, Dino Djulbic and Kosta Petratos into the squad to make up for those losses.

“There’s possibly three changes in the team, which when you are doing quite well and you’re getting results, you don’t want to see but there’s an opportunity for people to step up.”

Glory Facts and Stats

  • Perth Glory is undefeated in its last seven games against Melbourne Victory, conceding more than a single goal only twice in the period.
  • Perth Glory is unbeaten in its last four meetings with Victory in January (W2, D2)
  • Perth Glory has only lost one of its last nine games against opposition from Victoria (W4, D4), though that loss came against Victory’s neighbours, Melbourne City.
  • Perth Glory has made 308 tackles this season, more than any other team and one of only three teams to have amde more than 300 (Brisbane, Western Sydney 301).4Andy Keogh has scored the opening goal in four of its last seven encounters between these sides, including each of the last two.
  • Adam Taggart has scored three goals in the opening 15 minutes of games this season, the joint most in the competition.

Saturday, 21 January 2017
Perth Glory v Melbourne Victory
nib Stadium, Perth
Kick-Off: 5:00PM (Local) (8:00PM (AEDT))
Referee: Peter Green
Assistant Referee 1: Nathan MacDonald
Assistant Referee 2: Ashley Beecham
Fourth Official: Adam Fielding

TV Broadcast: Live coverage on Fox Sports 505 from 7.45pm (AEDT) and Sky Sport 3 (New Zealand)

Radio Broadcast: ABC Radio Perth, ABC Radio Melbourne, ABC Local Radio WA/Vic Grandstand Digital, Online & via the ABC Radio Mobile App – A-league Live, 1116 SEN (Melbourne)

Join the conversation on Twitter using the hash-tag #PERvMVC

Perth Glory squad: 3.Marc WARREN, 4.Shane LOWRY, 5.Rhys WILLIAMS, 6.Dino DJULBIC, 7.Joel CHIANESE, 9.Andy KEOGH, 10.Nebojsa MARINKOVIC, 13.Nicholas FEELY (gk), 14.Chris HAROLD, 15.Brandon WILSON, 16.Joe MILLS, 17.Diego CASTRO, 19.Josh RISDON, 20.Aryn WILLIAMS, 22.Adam TAGGART, 23.Kosta PETRATOS, 24.Milan SMILJANIC, 33.Liam REDDY (gk)

**two to be omitted**

Ins: 5.Rhys WILLIAMS (promoted), 6.Dino DJULBIC (returns from suspension), 20.Aryn WILLIAMS (promoted), 23.Kosta PETRATOS (promoted)

Outs: 2.Alex GRANT (foot – 4 weeks), 8.Rostyn GRIFFITHS (suspended)

Unavailable: 18.Mitch OXBORROW (foot – 4 weeks)

Melbourne Victory squad: 4.Nick ANSELL, 5.Daniel GEORGIEVSKI, 6.Leigh BROXHAM, 7.Marco ROJAS, 8.Besart BERISHA, 9.Max BEISTER, 10.James TROISI, 11.Mitch AUSTIN, 13.Oliver BOZANIC, 15.Alan BARO, 16.Rashid MAHAZI, 17.James DONACHIE, 19.George HOWARD, 20.Lawrence THOMAS (gk), 21.Carl VALERI (c), 22.Stefan NIGRO, 23.Jai INGHAM, 40.Matt ACTON (gk)

**two to be omitted**

Ins: 16.Rashid MAHAZI (promoted), 19.George HOWARD (promoted), 22.Stefan NIGRO (promoted), 23.Jai INGHAM (promoted)

Outs: 2.Jason GERIA (suspended – 1 match), 14.Fahid BEN KHALFALLAH (suspended – 1 match)

Unavailable: 27.Alastair BRAY (gk) (shoulder – indefinite)