Match Preview: Despotovski’s side all set for ‘must-win’ clash with Adelaide


Glory Head Coach Bobby Despotovski has labelled Friday’s away clash with Adelaide United a ‘must-win’ game for his side.

The women in purple will travel to the South Australian capital seeking a first win of the campaign at the expense of a Reds’ outfit that is also yet to taste victory this term and with the mercury predicted to top 40 degrees, the kick-off time has been moved back to 8.30pm (Local), (6pm (WST)).

Last season’s corresponding fixture saw the two sides battle out an entertaining 2-2 draw, but this year, according to Despotovski, only three points will do.

“It’s a must-win game for us,” he said.

“At this point, a top-four finish may be out of the question, but we still have plenty to play for.

“If we beat Adelaide, we’ll be on four points and then we can build from there.

“But if we lose, it’s going to be very hard not to finish last.

“We are not that far away. It’s a work in progress. We have not been smashed by anyone and have been in every single game.”

Glory’s most recent outing saw them suffer an unfortunate 2-1 home defeat at the hands of reigning Premiers Melbourne Victory, while Adelaide were beaten 2-0 at Sydney FC.

That result marked the first time this season that the Reds have lost by more than a single goal, however and they certainly have some quality in their ranks, notably 16-year-old Matildas star Mary Fowler and American duo Amber Brooks and Mallory Weber.

The Reds are unbeaten in their last three meetings with Glory, but the WA side have won 12 of the 18 overall meetings between the two clubs.

Match Details

Westfield W-League 2019/20 – Round 8 

Friday, 3 January 2020

Adelaide United v Perth Glory

Marden Sports Complex. Marden

Kick-Off: 8:30pm (Local)( 6:00pm (WST))

Referee: Kate Jacewicz 

Assistant Referee 1: Jasmine Steger

Assistant Referee 2: Paula Orlandi

Fourth Official: Isabella Blaess

Streaming Broadcast: Live coverage on FOX SPORTS (www.foxsports.com.au) , Kayo Sports (www.kayosports.com.au) and MyFootball Live App, Live Fast and Data Free for Telstra mobile customers

Join the conversation on Twitter using the hash-tag #ADLvPER

To purchase tickets visit www.w-league.com.au/tickets

Adelaide United squad: 1.Sarah WILLACY (gk), 2.Emily Hodgson, 3.Kahlia HOGG, 4.Mallory WEBER, 5.Charlotte GRANT, 6.Georgia CAMPAGNALE, 7.Ciara FOWLER, 8.Emily CONDON, 9.Mary FOWLER, 10.Chelsie DAWBER, 11.Laura JOHNS, 12.Isabel HODGSON, 14.Julia ASHLEY, 16.Dylan HOLMES, 18.Lais ARAUJO, 20.Evelyn GOLDSMITH (gk), 22.Amber BROOKS (c)

**two to be omitted**

Ins: 7.Ciara FOWLER (promoted), 9.Mary FOWLER (returns from injury)

Outs: Nil

Unavailable: Nil

Perth Glory squad: 1.Eliza CAMPBELL (gk), 2.Sarah CARROLL, 3.Kim CARROLL, 4.Ayesha NORRIE, 5.Shannon MAY, 6.Arianna ROMERO, 7.CELIA, 8.Morgan ANDREWS, 9.Crystal THOMAS, 10.Julia SARDO, 11.Leticia MCKENNA, 12.Jenna ONIONS, 14.Caitlin DOEGLAS, 19.Hana LOWRY, 21.Morgan AQUINO (gk), 24.Natasha RIGBY (c), 28.Katarina JUKIC

**two to be omitted**

Ins: 12.Jenna ONIONS (promoted), 19.Hana LOWRY (promoted)

Outs: Nil

Unavailable:  Nil