Match File: Jets v Glory

We start the countdown to Saturday’s Round 2 trip to McDonald Jones Stadium (kick-off at 2pm WST, watch live on Paramount +) by crunching some key numbers, revealing some fun facts and throwing in a dash historical context:

McDonald Jones Stadium remains Glory’s most successful away A-League venue still in current use.
The men in purple have won on 12 of their previous 25 visits and overall, have claimed three points in 28 of the 50 meetings between the two sides.

The two top overall goalscorers in this fixture are both former Glory players in the form of Diego Castro (8) and Jamie Harnwell (7).
Adam Taggart also bagged seven during his spells with both clubs.

Glory v Macarthur May 23 - Diego Castro celebrates

A host of players have represented both clubs over the years, including a number who may feature on Saturday.
Daniel Stynes, Brandon O’Neill, Jack Duncan and Callum Timmins could line up for the Jets, while Liam Reddy, John Koutroumbis and Mitch Oxborrow are the former Newcastle men in Glory’s ranks.

Bruno Fornaroli has scored 12 times in 14 A-League appearances against the Jets during his spells with Melbourne City and Glory, his joint-best record versus any opponent (along with Adelaide United).

The eight most recent A-League meetings between the two sides have provided an even split of two wins for Glory, two for the Jets and four draws.
Each side’s biggest win in this fixture was 6-1, with Glory’s goal-fest coming in January 2016 and Newcastle’s in April 2022.

Liam Reddy has a higher win percentage in his appearances against Newcastle than any other club with the exception of… Glory!
The vastly-experienced ‘keeper has emerged victorious in 48.57% of his 35 games versus Saturday’s opponents (and 56.52% of the 23 games he played against Glory before joining the club in 2016).