Kewell named for Glory clash


Qantas Socceroo star Harry Kewell has been named by Melbourne Victory for Sunday’s crucial clash against Perth Glory.

Qantas Socceroo star Harry Kewell has been named by Melbourne Victory for Sunday-s crucial clash against Perth Glory.

Kewell is one of four big names added to the Victory squad along with ‘keeper Ante Covic, Costa Rican Carlos Hernandez and Isaka Cernak.

Kewell-s inclusion adds to the star power of the fixture which sees two attacks laced with talent go head-to-head.

Perth Glory will be led by marquee men Shane Smeltz and Mile Sterjovski, Billy Mehmet, Andrezinho and Liam Miller.

The Victory can look to ace goal scorer Archie Thompson, Danny Allsopp, Jean Carlos Solorzano, Kewell and Hernandez.

Sunday-s match of the day kicks-off at 2pm (Perth time) from Etihad Stadium in Melbourne.

Melbourne Victory vs. Perth Glory
Sunday, 20 November 2011
Venue: Etihad Stadium
Kick Off: 2pm

TV Broadcast: Fox Sports 1
Radio broadcaster: 774 ABC Melbourne / 1116 SEN Melbourne / 88.6 Plenty Valley FM Melbourne
Head-to-Head: All matches (played 18): Melbourne Victory wins 7, Perth Glory wins 7 (4

Melbourne Victory squad: 3. Fabio, 4. Petar Franjic, 6. Leigh Broxham, 7. Matthew Kemp, 9. Jean Carlos Solorzano, 10. Archie Thompson, 11. Marco Rojas, 12. Rodrigo Vargas, 13. Diogo Ferreira, 14. Billy Celeski, 15. Tom Pondeljak, 16.Carlos Hernandez, 17, Jimmy Jeggo, 18. Danny Allsopp, 19. Isaka Cernak , 20. Lawrence Thomas (GK), 21. Ante Covic, 22. Harry Kewell, 23. Adrian Leijer (c)
*four to be omitted*

In: 21. Ante Covic (returns from suspension), 16.Carlos Hernandez (returns from international duty), 22. Harry Kewell (returns from international duty), 19. Isaka Cernak (promoted)
Out: 30. Zaim Zeneli (GK) (omitted),
Unavailable: 1.Tando Velaphi (stress fracture), 8. Grant Brebner (calf), 2. Matthew Foschini (suspended – 1 match)

Perth Glory squad: 1.Danny Vukovic (gk), 2.Josh Mitchell, 3.Bas Van Den Brink, 4.Billy Mehmet, 6.Chris Coyne, 7.Jacob Burns (C), 8.Adam Hughes, 9.Shane Smeltz, 10.Liam Miller, 14.Steven McGarry, 15.Tommy Amphlett, 17.Todd Howarth, 18. Jesse Makarounas, 19.Josh Risdon, 21.Mile Sterjovski, 22. Adam Taggart, 27.Andrezinho, 30. Lewis Italiano (gk)
*Three to be omitted*

In:14. Steven McGarry, 15.Tommy Amphlett, 18. Jesse Makarounas, 22.Adam Taggart (all promoted)
Out: 13.Travis Dodd (Hamstring – 4-6 weeks)
Unavailable: 5.Steve Pantelidis (Achilles), 11.Victor Sikora (Hip – Long Term Injury List), 12.Scott Neville (Knee), 13.Travis Dodd (Hamstring- 4 Weeks),16.Evan Berger (Hamstring – 6-8 Weeks), 20.Neil Young (Abdominal Injury)