Hyundai A-League’s Summer of Football is here


Summer is here and things are heating up in the Hyundai A-League with the Summer of Football, a period which will feature 10 matches in 11 days over the festive period.

Fittingly beginning in the Sunshine State on Friday 23 December when Brisbane Roar FC take on Western Sydney Wanderers FC at Suncorp Stadium, the Summer of Football will see all ten Hyundai A-League clubs in action twice between 23 December and 2 January in what looms as a crucial part of the season.

Boxing Day will see two huge matches, in Newcastle and Adelaide, with the Newcastle Jets hosting Wellington Phoenix and league leaders Sydney FC travelling to Coopers Stadium to face reigning champions Adelaide United.

Attention then turns to Melbourne to see who can stay cool under pressure for back to back matches on consecutive nights at AAMI Park. On Tuesday 27 December its Melbourne City FC against Perth Glory, followed by Melbourne Victory and the Central Coast Mariners the following night.

A general view of Melbourne's AAMI Park when Victory hosted the Jets this season.

Sydney FC and Brisbane Roar FC will then meet at Allianz Stadium on 30 December before the Central Coast Mariners host Melbourne City FC and Tim Cahill in Gosford on New Year’s Eve.

Wellington Phoenix and Western Sydney Wanderers FC will then host matches on 1 January to kick off the New Year, with Melbourne Victory v Newcastle Jets on Monday 2 January at Simonds Stadium in Geelong rounding off the massive 11 day football feast.

“Football fans around Australia and New Zealand are going to be spoilt this festive season with an abundance of games to watch,” said FFA CEO David Gallop.

“The amazing atmosphere that only Hyundai A-League matches provide will be on display with 10 matches in 11 days across nine venues. Our Summer of Football presents the perfect opportunity for families to see what all the excitement is about and showcase why you’ve gotta have a team.”

“All of the matches will be broadcast LIVE on FOX SPORTS at 7.30pm providing plenty of quality football action to watch during the holiday period.”

Adelaide Oval.

Three of the 10 Summer Football matches will also consist of double headers with Westfield W-League matches.

The three double headers include Boxing Day at McDonald Jones Stadium in Newcastle, a Melbourne City FC v Perth Glory double header on 27 December at AAMI Park and then Melbourne Victory against Canberra United at AAMI Park ahead of the Hyundai A-League clash match between Melbourne Victory and the Central Coast Mariners on Wednesday 28 December.

The Hyundai A-League Summer of Football is here, and You’ve Gotta Have A Team. For more information and ticket details, visit www.a-league.com.au/summeroffootball

Every match in the Hyundai A-League Summer of Football will be LIVE on FOX SPORTS.

Hyundai A-League 2016/17 Season – Summer of Football (10 matches in 11 days)

Friday 23 December 2016

Brisbane Roar FC v Western Sydney Wanderers FC at Suncorp Stadium (Kick-Off 6.50pm local, 7.50pm AEDT)

Monday 26 December 2016

Newcastle Jets v Wellington Phoenix at McDonald Jones Stadium (Kick-Off 5.35pm AEDT)

Monday 26 December 2016

Adelaide United v Sydney FC at Coopers Stadium (Kick-Off 7.20pm local, 7.50pm AEDT)

Tuesday 27 December 2016

Melbourne City FC v Perth Glory at AAMI Park (Kick-Off 7.50pm AEDT)

Wednesday 28 December 2016

Melbourne Victory v Central Coast Mariners at AAMI Park (Kick-Off 7.50pm AEDT)

Friday 30 December 2016

Sydney FC v Brisbane Roar FC at Allianz Stadium (Kick-Off 7.50pm AEDT)

Saturday 31 December 2016

Central Coast Mariners v Melbourne City FC at Central Coast Stadium (Kick-Off 7.00pm AEDT)

Sunday 1 January 2017

Wellington Phoenix v Adelaide United at Westpac Stadium (Kick-Off 7.35pm local, 5.35pm AEDT)

Sunday 1 January 2017

Western Sydney Wanderers FC v Perth Glory at ANZ Stadium (Kick-Off 7.50pm AEDT)

Monday 2 January 2017

Melbourne Victory v Newcastle Jets at Simonds Stadium (Kick-Off 7.50pm AEDT)