Hyundai A-League bosses EA’s FIFA 17 TOTW


In a first for the Hyundai A-League, three players have been selected in the EA SPORTS’ FIFA 17 Team of the Week.

Perth Glory duo Diego Castro and Liam Reddy, along with Melbourne Victory’s Fahid Ben Khalfallah were all named in the squad for their performances during the Summer of Football.

And the trio are among some fine company, including Tottenham’s England striker Harry Kane, Spanish Chelsea star Cesc Fabregas and Spurs young gun Dele Alli.

Hyundai A-League Team of the Month: Dec 2016

Reddy is the first goalkeeper from the Hyundai A-League to be recognised by the FIFA Team of the Week, and deserved his selection for his epic performance against Melbourne City.

In one of the games of the season, the experienced gloveman saved two penalties from Bruno Fornaroli – including one in stoppage – time as Glory drew 3-3 at AAMI Park.

They were part of eight saves Reddy made on the night to ensure his side picked up an excellent result on the road.

It was also a memorable game for Reddy’s teammate Castro, who marked his return from injury with a brace of goals in the first half.

The Spaniard showed the form that saw him win last season’s Johnny Warren Medal and was almost unplayable throughout.

Perth Glory players celebrate one of Diego Castro's goal in the round 12 clash with Melbourne City at AAMI Park.

And just 24 hours later at the same venue, Ben Khalfallah stole the show in Victory’s big win over the Central Coast Mariners.

The classy playmaker set-up three of the home side’s four goals in the 4-1 win.

And he backed it up five nights later by scoring another goal in Victory’s 4-2 win over Newcastle Jets.

Fahid Ben Khalfallah is one of seven players released by Melbourne Victory on Friday.

The trio join the likes of Besart Berisha, Andy Keogh and Milos Ninkovic to have already won selection in the EA SPORTS’ FIFA 17 Team of the Week this season.