Glory downed by Sydney in Grand Final shootout


Glory’s search for a maiden Hyundai A-League Grand Final win goes on after Sydney FC claimed a dramatic penalty shootout victory at Optus Stadium.


The two sides battled to a 0-0 draw after 120 minutes in front of a record Grand Final crowd of 56,371, with the home side creating the better chances throughout.

Joel Chianese, Dino Djulbic and Diego Castro all drew fine saves from Andrew Redmayne, with Shane Lowry also going close, while the visitors failed to muster a single shot on target.

In the shootout, however, it was the Sky Blues who were the more clinical, Reza Ghoochannejhad rifling home the winning penalty after Glory substitutes Andy Keogh and Brendon Santalab had both seen their efforts saved by Redmayne.

While admitting to being devastated by the defeat, Glory Head Coach Tony Popovic was quick to reflect upon what has been a remarkable season for the WA side, one which culminated in the club’s first ever A-League Premiership.


“Firstly, congratulations to Sydney and Stevie [Head Coach Steve Corica],” he said.

“They didn’t have a shot, but they won. It was a tight game with not much in it.

“They defended extremely well and their ‘keeper made saves and we defended very well as well.

“Then it went to penalties and unfortunately we couldn’t get over the line.

“We just had a chat with the players after the game and told them to reflect on an amazing year, first and foremost.

“I told them that I’m proud of everyone at the club; staff and players. It’s been a real pleasure to coach them and watching them today was a pleasure as well because we did everything we could to win that game.”

The first chance of the Final fell the way of the hosts, Chianese nodding narrowly wide after rising highest to meet a fine Jason Davidson cross from the left.

And the home side went close again on 17 minutes, this time Redmayne producing a fingertip save to keep out Djulbic’s header after a quickly-taken corner had caught Sydney’s defence napping.

While under pressure for much of the opening half-hour, the Sky Blues remained a threat on the break and were only denied the opener by a marginal off-side call against Adam Le Fondre who had clipped home Michael Zullo’s ball across the box.

The second half began in the same way as the first, Redmayne again going full stretch to keep out a header, this time from Castro who had been teed up superbly by Ivan Franjic.

The visitors reacted well to that let-off and proceeded to enjoy their best period of the game and yet it was Glory who continued to create the better opportunities, Franjic delivering another fine cross which just eluded sliding substitute Keogh and Castro seeing a goalbound effort blocked by a cluster of defenders.

That was as close as either side came to breaking the deadlock in normal time and neither goalkeeper was tested in a cagey opening period of extra time either.

The second half, in contrast, began with substitute Scott Neville firing over as Glory poured forward and Shane Lowry just failing to keep his header on target moments later.

Popovic’s side continued to press right up until the final whistle without quite managing to unpick a superbly-drilled Sydney defence and in the ensuing shootout, it was the New South Wales side who prevailed.

Juande was the only one of Glory’s three penalty-takers to find the net, while Adam Le Fondre, Brandon O’Neill and Rhyan Grant all fired past Liam Reddy ahead of Ghoochannejhad’s clincher.

Match Details

Hyundai A-League 2019 Grand Final

Perth Glory 0 Sydney FC 0 (Sydney FC win 4-1 on penalties)

Half-time: 0-0

Optus Stadium, Perth

Attendance: 56,371

Referee: Shaun Evans

Perth Glory: 33.Liam REDDY (gk),3.Jason DAVIDSON, 4.Shane LOWRY, 5.Ivan FRANJIC (23.Scott NEVILLE 91′), 6.Dino DJULBIC, 7.Joel CHIANESE (9.Andy KEOGH 73′), 13.Matthew SPIRANOVIC, 17.Diego CASTRO, 19.Chris IKONOMIDIS (11.Brendon SANTALAB 115′), 27.JUANDE, 88.Neil KILKENNY (20.Jake BRIMMER 106′)

Substitutes not used: 1.Tando VELAPHI (gk)

Yellow cards: Lowry, Kilkenny, Juande, Djulbic

Red cards: None

Sydney FC: 1.Andrew REDMAYNE (gk), 2.Aaron CALVER, 4.Alex WILKINSON, 6.Josh BRILLANTE, 7. Michael ZULLO, 9.Adam LE FONDRE, 10.Milos NINKOVIC, 13.Brandon O’NEILL, 14.Alex BROSQUE (16. Reza GHOOCHANNEJHAD 95′), 22. Siem de JONG (17. Anthony CACERES 78′), 23. Rhyan GRANT

Substitutes not used: 8.Paulo RETRE, 11.Danny DE SILVA, 20.Alex CISAK (gk) 

Yellow cards: de Jong, Grant

Red cards: None

#OneMission #OneGlory