Glory Women look to continue dominance over Sydney FC


Although Sydney FC spent most of the 2014 season in 2nd place, Perth Glory Women were dominant over the Sky Blues last season, winning three matches out of three by a combined score of 9-0. However, Glory Head Coach Bobby Despotovski has no interest in living in the past.

“If we lived in the past, the results against them last year would matter. But at the end of the day I don’t care what happened last year. I really don’t. Last year doesn’t matter. We live for today. We’re going to prepare the best we can with the personnel we have. We’re going to go to Sydney putting our best out there to win the game that day.”

Glory comes into this match following a 4-0 loss at home against Melbourne City, but Despotovski was encouraged by the play of his star player on the day, Samantha Kerr.

“Sam Kerr had three great opportunities at the end of the game, and a penalty that should have been given in the first half as well. So there is a couple of things that didn’t go our way, but still very happy with her performance.”

Caitlin Foord was absent from that match due to a hamstring injury, but her head coach is hopeful she will return to action this weekend.

“We’re expecting Caitlin to travel with us, but we can’t say she’ll play yet. She needs to pass the medical stuff, and if she can, then okay, not a problem. If she does, she and Samantha will cause troubles for Sydney together.”

“Samantha is going to play her role, either out wide or as a striker. She did very well as a striker against the best team in Australia, and if she plays as the striker again on Sunday, we expect more of the same.”

In the first match of the season with Foord and Kerr working together in attack, Glory came away with a 2-1 away win against Melbourne Victory, and if Foord can return to action on Sunday, Perth will like its chances of returning to the win column.

Kick-off is at 1pm at Lambert Park.

Match Details
Sunday, 8 November 2015
Sydney FC Women vs. Perth Glory Women
Lambert Park, Sydney
Kick-Off: 1:00 PM AWST

Perth Glory Women probable squad: 1. Mackenzie Arnold (gk), 3. Kim Carroll, 4. Katie Holtham, 5. Shannon May, 6. Carla Bennett, 7. Nicole Stanton, 8. Shawn Billam, 9. Caitlin Foord, 11. Emily Henderson, 13. Danielle Brogan, 14. Caitlin Doeglas, 16. Thia Eastman, 18. Gabby Dal Busco (gk), 19. Ella Mastrantonio, 20. Samantha Kerr (c)