Fornaroli and Ikonomidis on target as Glory return to winning ways

Glory v Victory 2021 - players celebrate

Second-half goals from Bruno Fornaroli and Chris Ikonomidis secured Glory a well-deserved 2-1 win over Melbourne Victory at HBF Park on Sunday afternoon.


Having seen Liam Reddy save Robbie Kruse’s penalty in the first half, the home side seized control early in the second following the dismissal of Victory defender Nick Ansell for a studs-up lunge on Callum Timmins.

An intricate passing move yielded the opportunity for Fornaroli to bag his ninth goal of the campaign seven minutes after the restart and Ikonomidis duly doubled his side’s lead moments later with a thumping volley.

Rudy Gestede did pull one back for Victory six minutes from time to set up a tense finale, but Glory held firm and Head Coach Richard Garcia was naturally delighted to see his charges return to winning ways, keeping their Finals hopes flickering in the process.


“I’m pleased that the guys did so well and that we got the result,” he said.

“Now it’s about focusing upon Wednesday [home v Western United] and trying to replicate that result and the performance as well.

“The players looked like they had a spring in their step again, but we still need to be focused on what we do and disciplined for the full 90 minutes and that’s something we’ll continually evolve.

“We want to push in these last few games with one eye also on next season.

“We’ve still got a game or two in hand and it’s just about gaining a bit of momentum and hopefully keeping people fresh and getting the best out of everyone.”

Lining up with three at the back for this first time this season, Glory looked solid from the outset while also posing a threat going forward and created the game’s first chance on 16 minutes, Fornaroli flashing an inviting ball across the face of goal which just eluded three of his outstretched teammates.

Fornaroli then forced a fine, one-handed save from Matt Acton after driving his way into the box as Glory continued to look the more likely and yet it was the navy-and-whites who were to be handed the best opportunity to break the deadlock in the 24th minute.

Gestede’s overhead kick struck the hand of the luckless Timmins as the two tussled in the box, but when Kruse stepped up to take the resulting spot-kick, Reddy guessed right and made an excellent stop low to his left.

Three minutes into the second half there was another dramatic twist in the tale, with the game taking on a different complexion when Ansell received a straight red card for his foul on Timmins.

And Glory exploited their numerical advantage almost immediately via a fine team goal which saw Diego Castro play a neat one-two with Ciaran Bramwell before squaring for Fornaroli to apply the close-range finish.

1-0 swiftly became 2-0, substitute Carlo Armiento standing up a fine cross to the back post where Ikonomidis crashed home on the volley.

Timmins came close to adding a third with a curling effort which flew narrowly wide, before, in a rare attacking foray from Victory on 70 minutes, Reddy smothered Kruse’s effort at his near post.

Glory’s defence was breached late on, Gestede bundling home after Kruse’s initial effort had cannoned back off the crossbar, but Garcia’s side managed to see out the final moment and lock away a fourth home win of the campaign.

Match Details

Perth Glory 2 (Fornaroli 52′, Ikonomidis 56′) Melbourne Victory 1 (Gestede 84′)


HBF Park, Perth

Referee: Kurt Ams

Perth Glory: 33.Liam REDDY (gk), 5.Jonathan ASPROPOTAMITIS, 7.Chris IKONOMIDIS, 8.Kosuke OTA, 9.Bruno FORNAROLI (10.Andy KEOGH 62′), 11.Joel CHIANESE (20.Carlo ARMIENTO 46′), 13.Luke BODNAR, 17.Diego CASTRO (24.Daniel STYNES 62′), 19.Callum TIMMINS (15.Brandon WILSON 65′), 29.Darryl LACHMAN, 38.Ciaran BRAMWELL (23.Dane INGHAM 71′)

Substitutes not used: 1.Tando VELAPHI (gk),  37.Riley WARLAND

Yellow Cards: Ota, Timmins

Red Cards: None

Melbourne Victory: 1.Matt ACTON (gk), 2.Storm ROUX, 4.Nick ANSELL, 6.Leigh BROXHAM (c), 8.Jacob BUTTERFIELD, 9.Rudy GESTEDE, 10.Robbie KRUSE, 11.Ben FOLAMI, 17.Elvis KAMSOBA (15.Aaron ANDERSON 50′), 19.Dylan RYAN, 22.Jacob BRIMMER

Substitutes not used: 13.Birkan KIRDAR, 14.Jay BARNETT, 20.Max CROCOMBE (gk), 26.Lleyton BROOKS, 29.Nishan VELUPILLAY

Yellow Cards: Kruse

Red Cards: Ansell