Glory stay second after deserved win


Andy Keogh struck his third goal in as many games as Glory maintained their unbeaten start to the season with a thoroughly-deserved 2-1 victory over Brisbane Roar at nib Stadium.

The club’s record Hyundai A-League goalscorer converted a cross from Chris Ikonomidis to give the hosts the lead after 15 minutes and Glory’s lead was doubled just after the hour-mark when Connor O’Toole put through his own net.

The Queenslanders did pull one back late on as Adam Taggart converted from the spot having been brought down in the box by Tomi Mrcela, with the Glory man earning a red card for his troubles.

But Tony Popovic’s side held on to secure the win and maintain second spot on the ladder, with the Head Coach adamant that his charges were good value for the three points.


“Tonight was another improved performance and I thought we well and truly deserved the win,” he said.

“Brisbane had a spell just before halftime when they had a few chances, but that’s going to happen.

“We had to defend those moments well and then in the second half we just continued our dominance.

“It’s a shame about the red card which I thought was a very soft card to get.

“But then we had to be resilient and dig in and defend and we did that.”

Glory were on the front foot right from the off and came agonisingly close to grabbing the lead as early as the sixth minute.

Jason Davidson’s cross from the left picked out Keogh who saw his initial header brilliantly parried by Jamie Young and the Roar ‘keeper then produced an even better save to tip the Irishman’s follow-up effort on to the bar.

Glory’s number nine was not to be denied 11 minutes later, however, finding the net from close range after Ikonomidis did superbly well to get to the by-line and fire in a low cross.

The home side remained in the ascendancy for much of the remainder of the first half, with Shane Lowry drawing another save from Young after rising highest to meet a Neil Kilkenny corner and the lively Ikonomidis firing over the bar after fashioning the shooting opportunity with a clever turn on the edge of the box.

There was a rare moment of alarm for the Glory defence early in the second half when Liam Reddy was called upon to make a save low to his left after Lowry had inadvertently diverted a Matt McKay cross towards his own goal.

But normal service was soon resumed as Joel Chianese’s dipping strike flew narrowly over after Keogh and Ikonomidis had again combined to great effect to tee him up.

Moments later, Chianese again tried his luck, this time forcing a regulation save from Young and on 62 minutes, the pressure finally told as the second goal arrived.

Substitute Scott Neville found Keogh in the box, he showed great feet to get a shot away and although Young did well to block the ball, it struck the luckless O’Toole and flew into the net.

At that stage, Glory looked poised to see out a comfortable win, but there was a twist in the tale as Taggart marked his return to nib Stadium by scoring from the spot.

Having been brought down by Mrcela, the Socceroos frontman calmly found the bottom corner, but the ten men stood firm to see out the final moments.

Match Details

Hyundai A-League 2018/19 Season Round 3

Perth Glory 2 (Keogh 15′, O’Toole (o.g.) 62′) Brisbane Roar 1 (Taggart (pen) 85′)

nib Stadium, Perth

Attendance: 9446

Referee: Daniel Elder

Assistant Referee 1: Josh Mannella

Assistant Referee 2: Matthew Southern

Fourth Official: Adam Fielding

VAR: Kris Griffiths-Jones

Perth Glory: 33.Liam REDDY (gk), 2.Alex GRANT, 3.Jason DAVIDSON (23.Scott NEVILLE 62′), 4.Shane LOWRY, 5.Ivan FRANJIC, 7.Joel CHIANESE, 9.Andy KEOGH, 16.Tomislav MRCELA, 19.Chris IKONOMIDIS (22.Fabio FERREIRA 85′), 27.JUANDE, 88.Neil KILKENNY (5.Brandon WILSON 76′)

Substitutes not used:  1.Tando VELAPHI (gk), 14.Chris HAROLD

Yellow cards: Neville

Red cards: Mrcela

Brisbane Roar FC: 21.Jamie YOUNG (gk), 16.Avram PAPADOPOULOS, 7.Thomas KRISTENSEN, 8.Jacob PEPPER, 9.Adam TAGGART, 11.Eric BAUTHEAC, 14.Alex LOPEZ, 17.Matt MCKAY (c) (22.Tobias MIKKELSEN 66′), 19.Jack HINGERT (2.Dane INGHAM 85′), 24.Connor O’TOOLE, 33.HENRIQUE (26.Nicholas D’AGOSTINO 85′)

Substitutes not used: .Brendan WHITE (gk), 4.Daniel BOWLES

Yellow cards: Papadopoulos

Red cards: None